News: No news is good news...

Login  |  Register

Author Topic: 2 Hqs is it worth it?  (Read 326 times)

Offline Brettzky

• I'm just two women short of a threesom.
2 Hqs is it worth it?
« on: October 2, 2003, 05:27:09 PM »
Is it worth it too have two HQ's?  I've had people suggest to me to have a Archon with an agoniser with a Reaver,Drugs,Tormenator Helm, P 'nades, and S.Field.
But they say I should have two DE hqs, the other one being Drachon with Agoniser and S.Pistol and C. Drugs with a squad of 6 incubi in a raider.  Is it worth it to have another HQ since it cant have a Shadow Field.  I thought it wasn't but I'm new to the game so I was wondering what other peoples thoughts are?  Will it die too quickly since they can target it with attacks?

Thanks Brettzky ;D

Offline Invidious

• Lazerous Penguin
Re:2 Hqs is it worth it?
« Reply #1 on: October 2, 2003, 06:05:40 PM »
The answer is that it pretty much depends on the game size.  2000+, I would consider it.  Mainly because I do happen to have 5 incubi, and a really nicely converted incubi/incubi master, just cause I wanted something different.  Well..  Lets just say they usually don't se a lot of action.  But I'm off the topic already.  in 1500 and below, not a chance.  Probably no in 1750, and a tenative no in 1850.  

Pick one or the other, not both.  Otherwise you have lots of points invested in very few models, wich is not good.  When I play  DE (and it doesn't work for other races, so mind that) I usually work the 'rule of 200.'  In any game of 1500 points no unit costs more than about 200 points.  Thats about 13% of your army in one unit.  This way if you loose it, although it might hurt... its not devestating.  If you loose that 300 point "One fifth of my strike force" HQ than it is really quite  a punch in the face.  In case you were wondering, those 200 pt squads are my wych units.