News: No news is good news...

Login  |  Register

Author Topic: The private army of Inquisitory L. Chaney  (Read 1779 times)

Offline dr_amazo

• Remember: don't panic, and keep shooting
The private army of Inquisitory L. Chaney
« on: May 1, 2012, 08:39:59 PM »
Hey guys, I've been a long time lurker on the site, but this is my first time in the fan fiction section. I've always liked to write, and since I had a free night this evening I decided to start a background saga for the leader of my army. I put this together in about half an hour, so I think it might seem a little rushed and it might read as such. This is the introduction of the main character and his antagonist. The character's name, as I'm sure alot of you will notice, is a combination of horror master Lon Chaney and creature hunter Van Helsing. I'm a huge sci-fi fan, which is why I'm so attracted to the 40k universe, and one of my favorite "stories" is that of the 13th Legion of the Space Wolves. So, without further rambling, I give to you the first installment of the saga of Inquisitor L. Chaney van Helsing. Hope you all enjoy, and as always critiques are much appreciated.

The night was dark but crisp. Silence penetrated every shadow in a manner quite familiar to the veterans of the noble Imperial Guard. This was not the natural silence of a world at sleep; rather it was the eery, bone chilling silence of war. The kind of silence that preceeds an inevitable attack. It was for this reason that the men who held the line on the midnight shift were so unneasy. Trigger fingers itched and boots tamped as they waited, and waited and waited for an attack from an enemy they knew was out there, but had yet to see.