News: No news is good news...

Login  |  Register

Author Topic: New Tau player but a long time fan of 40K  (Read 4666 times)

Offline dragonsanzo

• I *LOVE* 40k Online!
New Tau player but a long time fan of 40K
« on: September 6, 2016, 02:25:26 PM »
Hey all, as mentioned I'm a new player to Warhammer 40k miniatures war game but I've been a long time fan of Warhammer 40k (in fact i only got into the miniature war game once i graduated) and have played some of its properties such as Dawn of War 2 and Deathwatch RPG.

So far my own army is pretty small and unfortunately i have yet to finish painting them all and learning how to play with them as no one in my usual haunts plays Unbound. I'm also painting them in my own colors with the help of some of the more talented players back at the shop.

Here is what I currently have:
- A Tau Commander (Coldstar suit) with gun drone
- One Pathfinder Unit (one Shas'ui using pulse carbine, three ion rifles and three rail guns, the rest are also using Pulse carbine and the standard drones that comes with the box)
- one Sniper Team (finecast, second hand, very old)
- two Devilfish with drones(finecast, second hand, very old)
- Two spare drones (gun and markerlight)

Here is what I'm planing to buy once i save up cash:
- Two Fire Warriors Teams.

Since i have yet to play a proper game to learn (other than read the rulebook) any tips that can be shared to balance/improve my army? Other than buying more units that is XD.

Thank you guys in advance.
« Last Edit: September 6, 2016, 02:30:06 PM by dragonsanzo »

Offline Wyddr

• Author Eminence: Hereticus Liber Daemonica | Fio'shas Shi
  • Lazerous Penguin
    • My blog about SF/F stuff
  • Armies: Daemons, Imperial Fists, Tau, Ksons, Vostroyans
Re: New Tau player but a long time fan of 40K
« Reply #1 on: September 6, 2016, 08:39:29 PM »
Well, once you get the two firewarrior teams, you can probably cobble together a 500 point list out of all that.