News: No news is good news...

Login  |  Register

Author Topic: Questions on base rules  (Read 806 times)

Offline TheGreatElder

• I *LOVE* 40k Online!
Questions on base rules
« on: October 22, 2019, 05:31:28 PM »
Hi, I am new to the game and i have few questions regarding Base rules of 8th edition.

1. The rules say that i can shoot to all units as soon as I see at least a part of one model. But what is part? Lets say i see just the tip of a model sword who is behind a tree. I can fire to the entire squad?

2. A cryptek model say: friendly units within 3" of this units... this mean that i need to have ALL the unit models inside 3" to receive the power effect, or one only model? Or it mean that only the models inside 3£ get the power? Some powers speak clearly of models, some other only say units. so, what is the difference?

3. Necron monolith is armed with 4 flux cannons... every flux ark is heavy 3. So i can fire 3x4 = 12 times every turn and i can also use the particle whip? All in the same shooting phase?

Thanks in advance.

Bye

Offline faitherun (Fay-ith-er-run)

• Armies: Pointy Ears and bugs
Re: Questions on base rules
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2019, 07:32:59 PM »
Hi, I am new to the game and i have few questions regarding Base rules of 8th edition.

1. The rules say that i can shoot to all units as soon as I see at least a part of one model. But what is part? Lets say i see just the tip of a model sword who is behind a tree. I can fire to the entire squad?
That is correct.

2. A cryptek model say: friendly units within 3" of this units... this mean that i need to have ALL the unit models inside 3" to receive the power effect, or one only model? Or it mean that only the models inside 3£ get the power? Some powers speak clearly of models, some other only say units. so, what is the difference?
Most powers, or Auras, say either within or wholly within x number of inches. This can be models or units.