News: No news is good news...

Login  |  Register

Author Topic: Reinforcements in the 1st turn  (Read 1027 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline l33t

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • I love lamp...
Reinforcements in the 1st turn
« on: July 11, 2020, 10:12:57 PM »
Hi all, not sure if anyone has the rule book, but from what I have read on the Warhammer community page, I can’t see any limitations on when reinforcements can be deployed. I think we can reserve for example, a unit of war walkers and then bring them on in the first turn protecting them if the opponent has priority. .
Have I got that right?

Offline Grand Master Lomandalis

  • Grand Master of the Deathwing | Oh the lolmanity! | 40kOnline's Care Bear of LOL!
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11315
  • Country: ca
  • We were murderers first, last, and always!
  • Armies: Dark Angels, Custodes, Knights, Night Lords
Re: Reinforcements in the 1st turn
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2020, 12:41:08 AM »
It is hard to say what the reality will be as they will be the full rules and chapter approved on the same day.

I have a feeling that they will include in Chapter Approved the same reserve restriction on units that have an innate deep strike ability from the previous edition.  There is no way that units that don't have to pay command points to deep strike will be allowed to come in on the first turn without exemption (ie Drop Pods).
If there is anything that recent politics has taught us, it is that quotes taken out of context can mean what ever you want them to.
Well I always liked the globals...
I knew I had fans!!!

Quote
"Dark Angels are Traitors" is the 40k equivalent of Flat Earthers.  You can provide all of the proof you want that says otherwise, but people just can't let it go...

Offline Alienscar

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1451
  • Country: 00
  • I *LOVE* 40k Online!
Re: Reinforcements in the 1st turn
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2020, 04:52:19 PM »
Hi all, not sure if anyone has the rule book, but from what I have read on the Warhammer community page, I can’t see any limitations on when reinforcements can be deployed. I think we can reserve for example, a unit of war walkers and then bring them on in the first turn protecting them if the opponent has priority. .
Have I got that right?

Well The Core Rules that GW have freely provided says

Quote from: ENG_40K9_Basic_Rules
Some units have a rule that allows them to start the battle in a
location other than on the battlefield; units that use such rules are
called Reinforcements, and they will arrive later in the battle as
described by their rule.

Details of how to set up Reinforcement units are described in the same rules that enabled
the unit to be set up in a location other than the battlefield.

So the only limitation on when Reinforcement units can be deployed will be described in that units rules

Tactical Reserves on the other hand is something different to Reinforcements and Strategic Reserves can't arrive earlier than the second turn.

And if I am reading it correctly Strategic Reserves can't be used with Reinforcement units

Quote from: Warhammer Community
. It’s worth pointing out at this stage that, if your units have abilities that enable them to set up somewhere other than the battlefield (such as a teleportarium chamber for the Teleport Strike ability of Terminators or when using the Cult Ambush ability of the Genestealer Cults), the Strategic Reserves rules don’t apply to them.
Quote from: Starrakatt
"Russ, get your work done or you won't see your damn console for the next month!"
Quote from: Cavalier
Honestly Alienscar, we get it... you dont like painting!

Offline Lord of Winter and War

  • The Cause of Diabetes -Captain- Necrontyr Immortal - KoN Veteran - Master of All Diplomacy | Wi-Fi Nomad |
  • Staff
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8807
  • Country: ca
  • Armies: Harlequins, Spiderfang, Bonereapers, Space Wolves
Re: Reinforcements in the 1st turn
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2020, 07:42:20 AM »
The rule to not deepstrike turn 1 wasn't a core rule in the last edition either. It was a matched play rule.

Since the chapter approved mission book is meant exclusively for matched play, that is where I expect such rules to be.
Harlequin Army Blog

That's not blatant, this is blatant: I'm super happy that I'm playing Austria, the greatest nation in all of Diplomacy!

Azore of Austria

 


Powered by EzPortal