News: No news is good news...

Login  |  Register

Author Topic: Independent [how does targeting work?].  (Read 589 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline 13th guest

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 249
  • Fnord
Independent [how does targeting work?].
« on: July 11, 2007, 01:04:48 PM »
Just want to make sure I have this right, independent models are still units and can be targeted like any other unit (unlike characters). Thus our cult assassins can be targeted even from across the board with a lascannon by passing a target check.
« Last Edit: July 11, 2007, 11:47:48 PM by Mr.Peanut, the moustachioed pistachio »

Offline Purgatory

  • Neophyte
  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1536
  • Auxilium et Concilium
    • The Ailarian
Re: Independent.
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2007, 02:23:33 PM »
A single model not granted the independent character rule can be targeted like any other unit, and all the regular shooting rules apply (range, LOS, priority and so on).

Purg

Offline Master Bio-Titan BT

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6318
  • Country: us
  • Armies: Chaos Marines and Tyranids
Re: Independent.
« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2007, 05:13:06 PM »
If you have 3 DCAs' on the board counting as one unit and they are each spread out across the board and you had multiple shots and suffered multiple wounds, you would only lose one model if multiple wounds/saves are failed.

All models are called UNITS, even tanks.  Sometimes in the literature of the rules throughout the BGB and codex you should keep in mind to pay attention to words like "MODELS", "UNITS" as interpretations can get confusing and combined.


2008 CSM Poster of the Year

My CSM Conversions & Tutorials (Updated 12-22-12) 

My Tyranid Conversions & Tutorials  (Updated 12-23-12)

Offline Mr.Peanut (Turtleproof)

  • Ride Like Lightning, Crash Like Thunder | Infinity Circuit | Pork Sword of Mod-Justice | Took the basket, nuts and lol | Good grief, ye hennie pennies
  • Ancient
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13225
  • Country: 00
  • Turtleposting At The Speed Of SHift
  • Armies: Eldar, Dark Eldar, Sigmarines, Chaos, Demons
Re: Independent [Characters- how does targeting work?].
« Reply #3 on: July 11, 2007, 11:47:20 PM »
See "SHOOTING AT CHARACTERS" on page 51 of the 4th Edition Warhammer 40,000 rulebook.

Death Cult Assassins and Temple Assassins are not Independent Characters and are thus treated as any other unit.  They have the "Independent" rule, but not the "Independent Characters" rule, which are two different things.
« Last Edit: July 11, 2007, 11:48:32 PM by Mr.Peanut, the moustachioed pistachio »
You are
What you do
When it counts
     -The Masao
"Getting what you want can be dangerous.

 


Powered by EzPortal