Rites of Exorcism and Daemonic Infestation
I agree that these are fine.....besides, they come up so rarely anyway, as it has to be a chaos army with daemons (so no Iron Warriors or pure Marine Forces).
The only rule I've seen used regularly is the difficult terrain check for a daemon prince to charge them.
More to the point, it's a universal special rule. I'm very much a fan of the 'don't make up new special rules if there's already one that does exactly what you want' school of thinking.
True, it's not. But the terminators certainly have something that looks very much like a psychic hood built into the armour....I think the personal psychic hood is quite nice, but for simplicity's sake (i.e. not having to do an opposed roll each time) you could make it a 5+ save like the Sororitas' Shield of Faith
. This gives you pretty much the same protection, and is simpler to use.
The problem with giving The Shrouding
to Grey Knight Dreadnoughts is that they'll be armed with a lascannon and missile launcher and sitting at the back of the board completely immune to retalliation.....
I agree it should be improved a bit; I'd suggest giving it the same stats as a stealthsuit..
A leadership check followed by a night-fighting roll as well
seems a bit clunky.
Necron lords get to re-teleport. That, Grey Knights definitely shouldn't have.
Ditto warp spiders. The teleporters are on the strike cruiser, not being lugged around with them.
I wouldn't use Lysander's rule...no strike cruiser can compete for teleport capacity with the Phalanx
, besides it's the one thing that's truly unique to him, and he is a special character. I might suggest a bonus to reserve rolls, but personally I don't think they should. Teleporting from a strike cruiser is the same way terminator squads arrive, use the same rules.
The one thing I would say is that all
grey knights should have the option.
Have all 5-6 squads teleporting in instead of just 2-3 and you will get some troops down the first time you roll.
I also like the concept of teleporting in the dreadnoughts; you're shifting no more volume than a terminator squad...it's a neat alternative to drop pods, which grey knights don't use.
Include it in the cost and it's cheaper than a drop pod, albeit at greater risk. (possibility of a bad deepstrike and no drop pod model to back that rear armour up against)
Actually it works in all rounds, but you don't get an attack for charging (see universal rules). This can be important when facing something like Wyches that can take away additional close combat weapon attacks.
Again, it's a universal rule....albeit with stormbolters rather than bolters.
I don't think the terminators should get it for a couple of reasons;
1) Fluff: Terminator armour is bulky, and it is hard to use. The fact that so few weapons can be used whilst wearing it is a case in point. The grand master, and all terminators, however, wear it because grey knight tactical dreadnought plate is possibly the single best set of body armor ever made for humans.
2) Gameplay: Exactly how hideously powerful do you want grey knight terminators to be? They already outclass space marine terminators in every field other than assault cannon wielding-ness by an order of magnitude.
An inquisitor does not count as a psyker unless he takes one of the following wargear options:
One or more Psychic Powers
(Including a Force Weapon or Nemesis Force Weapon)
A Psychic Hood
The Emperor's Tarot
The Brother-Captain or Justicar of a Squad is considered a psyker for all purposes, all ranges relating to psychic powers are drawn to or from him, and he (specifically) suffers Perils of the Warp
Other grey knights are not sufficiently strong psychics to be affected by any special rule or effect relating to psykers.
Special Rules for inquisitors/inquisitor lordsIron Will
Rocks. It would rock even more if his retinue wasn't compulsory, but this is not the thread for that.Other new rules:Infiltrate/Scout/Move through Cover
I can see retinues getting this, but I suggest they should only be getting a skill like this via choice of henchmen (as he should get most skills and special rules; this allows you to build the inquisitor you want...). Plus an inquisitor is rather too cheap to come with a skill like this by default. Furious Charge
No. Just no. He's S3, he's a normal human, however well trained. This is he defining characteristic of an inquisitor - his humanity (or occasional lack of it)....I can't get my head round any reason for him to have furious charge...
Make up for it with wargear if you want, but not special rules.