News: No news is good news...

Login  |  Register

Author Topic: Magic - discuss....  (Read 1662 times)

Offline Arquarian

• Infinity Circuit
  • all is dust...
Magic - discuss....
« on: November 29, 2012, 11:23:31 AM »
Ok so I know I'm still a bit new to the fantasy world after a decade and more long haitus but i'm still trying to work out where I want to sit Magic wise.

So I thought I'd start a thread on Magic, How pople want to use and what units, characters, items and what not people take to affect that role.

From my side I've got a Khorne leaning Warriors of Chaos army. I've experimented running a level 2 sorc and separately a lvl2 plus a lvl4. I've found the results a bit of a mixed bag.  I've noticed that the level 4 does not automatically  mean you're going to dominate the Magic phase. (I was facing a lvl 2 goblin shamen!) 

Being that I'm leaning towards Khorne I'm tempted to spend a whole lot less points on magic, go defensive and spend points else where.

So, from this post I'm looking for an open discussion on what people want from their magic phase and how they go about doing that....

Offline Benis

• 77 Shades Of Decay | Lazerous Penguin | Death to the Emperor with a Pulse!
  • Lazerous Penguin
  • Getkilling
Re: Magic - discuss....
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2012, 02:58:24 PM »
I don't know how much you will get out of a general discussion about magic, there are so many variables each army has to consider for it to be of much use and not just general nonsense.

That said, I would say that unless the army (Dwarfs basically) or theme (Khorne basically) demands it the best thing to go for is a lvl 4 and then if you feel you want a higher presence you add in a lvl 2 or two.