News:

Login  |  Register

Author Topic: Necron vs orks da jump rule  (Read 198 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline TheGreatElder

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Country: it
  • I *LOVE* 40k Online!
Necron vs orks da jump rule
« on: October 30, 2019, 05:29:53 PM »
I have just one questions.

A weirdboy teleport a 30 models unit of boys at 9" from my immortals. They charge and actually do 120 attacks so they wipe out the immortals istantly...

with 3x weirdboys (186 points) and 3x 30 boys (720 points) my enemy can do this 3 times in his turn and pratically wipe out 3 of my main infantry units and i cannot prevent this in any manner...

Advices?

Edit:  Removed calculation for number of attacks.  --- GML
« Last Edit: October 30, 2019, 09:14:35 PM by Grand Master Lomandalis »

Online faitherun (Fay-ith-er-run)

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1502
  • Country: 00
  • Armies: Pointy Ears and bugs
Re: Necron vs orks da jump rule
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2019, 07:02:06 PM »
Two Points

First, in matched play (which is 99% of play...) You can only attempt (pass or fail) each power only once. I would insist on matched play...

Secondly, using screens. A unit of 3 Scarabs, pushed out in front of your forces. Sure, he can charge and kill it, but that is what? 33 Points? (I am going off other codex similar unit - I have no idea what Scarbs cost...)

I will take a look through the Necron Dex latter and see if anything else jumps out at me
So, what your saying is it's not your fault you look stupid by using words you don't get?
Flawless logic.

Offline TheGreatElder

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Country: it
  • I *LOVE* 40k Online!
Re: Necron vs orks da jump rule
« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2019, 03:55:51 AM »
Yeah scarabs screens...

But a single scarab model cost 13, and a necron warrior cost 12... si i finish screen a 12 point unit with a 13 one...

This da jump seems to be a bit overpowered, justr because orks can use it pratically at every turn...

Offline Wyddr

  • Author Eminence: Hereticus Liber Daemonica | Fio'shas Shi
  • Lazerous Penguin
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5025
  • Country: us
    • My blog about SF/F stuff
  • Armies: Daemons, Imperial Fists, Tau, Ksons, Vostroyans
Re: Necron vs orks da jump rule
« Reply #3 on: October 31, 2019, 08:43:20 AM »
You aren't taking units of only one Necron warrior, but you can take Scarab units in as little as 3 models. All it takes to make a screen is those three models, too--remember, the orks can't land anywhere within 9" of those three guys--this creates a bubble you can use to keep them out of charge range of your Warriors.

Offline dog_of_war

  • Aspect Warrior
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 837
  • Country: ca
  • Armies: Orks, Chaos Space Marines, Eldar, Dark Eldar
Re: Necron vs orks da jump rule
« Reply #4 on: October 31, 2019, 09:28:43 AM »
Speaking as an ork player, da jump can be awesome first turn for sure, if it goes off and if we make our 9" charge. It looks great on paper to use every turn, but in reality, during the second turn we are either already in your face and don't need to teleport in any other units or our opponent has wisely targeted any potential da jump recipients and we don't have a 30 boy unit candidate to move.

As wyddr stated screening can essentially make using da jump very lack luster. Many games are won or lost during deployment and a wise tactician can effectively nullify or nerf any teleport/deepstrike shenanigans with a good deployment strategy, as long as they bring sufficient screening units, which are really essential in any competitive games with todays meta.

Offline TheGreatElder

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Country: it
  • I *LOVE* 40k Online!
Re: Necron vs orks da jump rule
« Reply #5 on: October 31, 2019, 06:35:30 PM »
Can I use Deathmarks ability called Ethereal Interception on orks unit that use DA JUMP?

Edit:  Removed unnecessary rule description. --- GML

I think not, but I ask for be sure.

Thanks
« Last Edit: October 31, 2019, 10:21:10 PM by Grand Master Lomandalis »

Offline Blazinghand

  • Aspect Warrior | Master of the Ravenwing
  • Lazerous Penguin
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1173
  • Country: us
  • Die for the Emperor or die trying!
  • Armies: Eldar, Orks
Re: Necron vs orks da jump rule
« Reply #6 on: November 1, 2019, 09:34:14 PM »
Can I use Deathmarks ability called Ethereal Interception on orks unit that use DA JUMP?

Edit:  Removed unnecessary rule description. --- GML

I think not, but I ask for be sure.

Thanks

The FAQ/Errata for the core rulebook goes into great detail about Da Jump and other similar rules on page 9. You can find the FAQ/Errata here under Warhammer 40,000 Rulebook: FAQs - Warhammer Community

In short, however: yes, you can do that.
Quote from: Howard Zinn
There is no flag large enough to cover the shame of killing innocent people.

 


Powered by EzPortal