0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
beslubber'em. They'll deal.
hmm, who left that piece of soap carelessly lying on the floor?
The D is okay. We love the D here.
[REDACTED FOR UNPATRIOTIC SENTIMENT. ALL HAIL GML].
Found a BRB.On 67, it says ". . . when it is deployed it can only carry the unit it was selected with . . ."This means the DT must be able to transport the unit inside of it in order to be taken with said unit.(When deployed, it can only (X) where X = carry the unit it was selected with)This does not allow the option of taking a DT and deploying it empty or with other units as the only thing it can do when deployed is carry the unit it was selected with (there is no "or empty" statement). Because it cannot be deployed empty, the unit must be able to fit inside the DT in order to meet the above rule.
Simply they must be deployed with the tank but it is free to leave coherncy of the unit after that.
I do have a small question about DT and units. I know the rules on a unit buying a DT and IC joining the unit. My question is if the IC buys the DT, can a squad not normally allowed to take a DTbe deployed with him in it, or would they have to embark on turn 1?
As far as iam aware only Chaos can exceed the transport capacity, as that has been stated in a GW errata.http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m2170006a_Chaos_Space_Marine_FAQ_Version_1_1_January_2012.pdfI havent been able to find it being mentioned in the other erratas.
Q: Some Grey Knights squads can take a Razorback as a dedicated transport. A Razorback has a transport capacity of six models. Can you still choose this as a dedicated transport for a squad with more than six models ? (p92) A: Yes.
The history behind this phenomenon is that older codexes tended to have restrictions on how big a squad could be and still take a DT. However, in later codexes, these limits were no longer included.The bottom line is that you need to look at the specific entry for the unit in question. If the option to take a DT is limited by squad size, it is going to be in that unit's entry. If the entry makes no mention of squad size, then you are free to take as big of a squad as you want.
Codex: Dark Eldar has the same restrictions on its transports as it always has (capacity issues) but as far as I'm aware, this is the only codex that actually has limits on it. (Templars also have the restriction as well, but they're not exactly a newer codex).
However, despite my previous stance, it looks as if you can take dedicated transports but not have to actually field their "parent unit" embarked in said dedicated transport. I won't do this however as it just feels unintentional. Kind of like how the necron scarab swarms could spawn across 30" before the new FAQ came about. Technically you could do it per the rules, it still didn't look right though. I'm taking the same approach for dedicated transports, what with them being dedicated to transporting the units they are selected with.
Quote from: Hanith on February 21, 2012, 04:15:32 PMTechnically you could do it per the rules, it still didn't look right though. I'm taking the same approach for dedicated transports, what with them being dedicated to transporting the units they are selected with.If you take this reasoning to its ultimate conclusion, your unit could never debark, as the transports would always be "dedicated" to transporting its unit.
Technically you could do it per the rules, it still didn't look right though. I'm taking the same approach for dedicated transports, what with them being dedicated to transporting the units they are selected with.
Bad Behavior has blocked 9828 access attempts in the last 7 days.