You are Here:

+-

termies in drop pods

Author (Read 1146 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

termies in drop pods
« on: September 8, 2011, 08:59:50 PM »
 

tomsev

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • 143
    Posts
  • Country: fr
  • space marines lead the way... all the way!
    • Awards
can terminators go in drop pods?
 

Re: termies in drop pods
« Reply #1 on: September 8, 2011, 09:15:43 PM »
 

mHz

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • 215
    Posts
  • Country: us
  • Don't believe me!
    • Awards

  • Armies: CSM, Renegade IG, Tyranids, Space Wolves
IIRC, the only terminators that can go into drop pods are the Space Wolves terminators.  Check your codex to see what dedicated transports are available for your terminators.
 

Re: termies in drop pods
« Reply #2 on: September 8, 2011, 09:16:44 PM »
 

Azash76

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • 197
    Posts
  • I *LOVE* 40k Online!
    • Awards
CSM the only thing that can transport a termie is a land raider.
 

Re: termies in drop pods
« Reply #3 on: September 9, 2011, 01:48:58 AM »
 

Lorizael

  • Farseer: Synergistic Spotter of Numpties
  • Staff
  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • 6628
    Posts
  • Country: 00
    • Awards
There is no restriction on models in terminator armour using drop pods- just that terminator squads have no option to take one as a dedicated transport.
So captains/chaplains/librarians in terminator armour may still get in a pod with another squad (that is allowed a pod as a dedicated transport).
 

Re: termies in drop pods
« Reply #4 on: September 9, 2011, 06:22:58 AM »
 

Arquarian

  • Aspect Warrior
  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • 2073
    Posts
  • Country: england
    • Arq War
    • Awards

  • Armies: bad ones
As mentioned previously Space Wolves CAN do this as the Wolfguard entry DOES have the ability to select a drop pod as a dedicated transport.

This is to counterbalance the fact that Space wolf terminators can not teleport.
This really isn't some kind of conspiracy ;).
 

Re: termies in drop pods
« Reply #5 on: September 9, 2011, 08:20:25 AM »
 

tomsev

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • 143
    Posts
  • Country: fr
  • space marines lead the way... all the way!
    • Awards
So i could for example have a ten man sternguard squad with a termie armoured libby in a drop pod?
 

Re: termies in drop pods
« Reply #6 on: September 9, 2011, 08:56:16 AM »
 

Arquarian

  • Aspect Warrior
  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • 2073
    Posts
  • Country: england
    • Arq War
    • Awards

  • Armies: bad ones
You could have an 8 man sternguard squad......

(take a closer look at the transport capacity rule and the terminator armour entry in the codox  ;) )
This really isn't some kind of conspiracy ;).
 

Re: termies in drop pods
« Reply #7 on: September 9, 2011, 09:00:22 AM »
 

tomsev

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • 143
    Posts
  • Country: fr
  • space marines lead the way... all the way!
    • Awards
yeah they count as 2 models and a drop pod can hold 12 so how come i can only take 8???
 

Re: termies in drop pods
« Reply #8 on: September 9, 2011, 09:01:16 AM »
 

Koval, Master Verispex

  • 40kOnline's Care Bear of Tanks | The Velvet Glove of Fated Tenderness and Ambition
  • Staff
  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • 3271
    Posts
  • Country: gb
  • Well, that was unexpected...
    • Awards

  • Armies: Imperial Guard (Indelvian 190th Mechanised)
So i could for example have a ten man sternguard squad with a termie armoured libby in a drop pod?
In principle, yes, although the tactical applications of such a unit-pairing would be debatable unless you plan to either use him in a defensive role, or spam Smite.

You could have an 8 man sternguard squad......

(take a closer look at the transport capacity rule and the terminator armour entry in the codox  ;) )
Actually, the transport capacity on a drop pod is bigger than you think, unless my Codex is out of date.
 

Re: termies in drop pods
« Reply #9 on: September 9, 2011, 09:05:55 AM »
 

tomsev

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • 143
    Posts
  • Country: fr
  • space marines lead the way... all the way!
    • Awards
power wise i was thinking of GoI and null zone so they ca jump around and shoot up any and everything they want, and the libby could maybe make people think twice before assaulting them... what do you think?
 

Re: termies in drop pods
« Reply #10 on: September 9, 2011, 09:18:06 AM »
 

Caustic

  • Member
  • ***
  • 776
    Posts
  • Country: ca
  • Castellan Cawww!
    • Awards

  • Armies: Salamanders, 1k Sons & Daemons, Hochland Empire.
There is no restriction that models in Terminator Armour cannot go into Drop Pods in C:SM.  The above posters are correct that you cannot take a Pod as a Dedicated Transport for Terminators, but that is all.  Theoretically a squad of 10 Sternguard with a Terminator Armoured Librarian will fit in a Drop Pod with the current codex.
 

Re: termies in drop pods
« Reply #11 on: September 9, 2011, 09:22:12 AM »
 

KJQ

  • Member
  • ***
  • 452
    Posts
  • Country: ca
  • Lead, follow, or get out of the way.
    • Awards
yeah they count as 2 models and a drop pod can hold 12 so how come i can only take 8???

To clear up the confusion, the vanilla SM codex drop pod can carry 12 models, the SW & BA drop pods only 10. Grey Knights - sorry, no such luck  ;)
"Education is what remains after one has forgotten what one has learned in school. " - Albert Einstein
 

Re: termies in drop pods
« Reply #12 on: September 9, 2011, 09:22:33 AM »
 

Koval, Master Verispex

  • 40kOnline's Care Bear of Tanks | The Velvet Glove of Fated Tenderness and Ambition
  • Staff
  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • 3271
    Posts
  • Country: gb
  • Well, that was unexpected...
    • Awards

  • Armies: Imperial Guard (Indelvian 190th Mechanised)
power wise i was thinking of GoI and null zone so they ca jump around and shoot up any and everything they want, and the libby could maybe make people think twice before assaulting them... what do you think?
I think there's way too much potential for something to go wrong. Deep Strike mishaps are horrible things, to say nothing for scattering into exactly the wrong place. Not to mention that you sound like you want to take an Epistolary, which makes the whole unit that much more expensive, and a very juicy target for anyone with a spare pie plate. Couple that with the high threat-value the unit would pose (especially since Sternguard are probably the most lethal unit a Gate Librarian can go with) and there's absolutely no way your opponent would consider letting them live for long. Gate is just that dangerous to both parties.
« Last Edit: September 9, 2011, 09:24:23 AM by Koval, Archmagos Errant »
 

Re: termies in drop pods
« Reply #13 on: September 9, 2011, 09:32:26 AM »
 

tomsev

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • 143
    Posts
  • Country: fr
  • space marines lead the way... all the way!
    • Awards
all i have to do is draw his attention to other things... like my land raider with assault termies and a artificer armour, relic blade a combi melta with hell fire rounds... i dont know which one he would be scared of most...
 

Re: termies in drop pods
« Reply #14 on: September 9, 2011, 09:48:18 AM »
 

Swamp Rat

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • 1357
    Posts
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Probably the one which is causing him the most problems in the first turn. It sees like a plan with a few risks, but giving an opponent two troublesome units, rather than relying on one land raider unit, is probably a good idea.
the only hope you have is to accept the fact that you're already dead. And the sooner you accept that, the sooner you will be able to function the way a soldier is supposed to function -- without mercy, without compassion, without remorse. All war depends on it.

Don't cry for the Happy dead
But weep for those who dread to die.

Space Wolves Win Draw Loss - 5-3-0
 

Re: termies in drop pods
« Reply #15 on: September 9, 2011, 10:21:35 AM »
 

tomsev

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • 143
    Posts
  • Country: fr
  • space marines lead the way... all the way!
    • Awards
well he will first see a land raider gunning flat out in to his face and the sternies shooting and jumping in first turn using the pod for cover... he will have a tough choice to make no to forget all the other nasties in my list...
 

Re: termies in drop pods
« Reply #16 on: September 9, 2011, 10:33:57 AM »
 

Koval, Master Verispex

  • 40kOnline's Care Bear of Tanks | The Velvet Glove of Fated Tenderness and Ambition
  • Staff
  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • 3271
    Posts
  • Country: gb
  • Well, that was unexpected...
    • Awards

  • Armies: Imperial Guard (Indelvian 190th Mechanised)
Once you're done with all the nasties, though, how much actual army will you have the points for?
 

Re: termies in drop pods
« Reply #17 on: September 9, 2011, 10:47:27 AM »
 

Arquarian

  • Aspect Warrior
  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • 2073
    Posts
  • Country: england
    • Arq War
    • Awards

  • Armies: bad ones
yeah they count as 2 models and a drop pod can hold 12 so how come i can only take 8???

massive amout of egg on my face  :-[
yes, you can have a suqad of 10 and a terminator model 


<john shuffles to the back of the crowd in shame, shame, shame....>
This really isn't some kind of conspiracy ;).
 

Re: termies in drop pods
« Reply #18 on: September 9, 2011, 11:33:35 AM »
 

tomsev

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • 143
    Posts
  • Country: fr
  • space marines lead the way... all the way!
    • Awards
Once you're done with all the nasties, though, how much actual army will you have the points for?
would you like me to post my list here??? so yall can tell what u think
 

Re: termies in drop pods
« Reply #19 on: September 9, 2011, 11:48:49 AM »
 

Arquarian

  • Aspect Warrior
  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • 2073
    Posts
  • Country: england
    • Arq War
    • Awards

  • Armies: bad ones
probably best to post in a new thread and for that matter in the Space Marice Army lists page, otherwise you may incur the wrath of the mods!

But yes please post your list so we can all give you some helpful constructive hints and tips....
(or steal some of yours!!)
This really isn't some kind of conspiracy ;).
 

 


Powered by EzPortal

Facebook Comments