You are Here:

+-

your thoughts? [Tech Marine in a Storm Raven for repairs]

Author (Read 1222 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

your thoughts? [Tech Marine in a Storm Raven for repairs]
« on: August 5, 2011, 02:33:04 PM »
 

adz594

  • Newbie
  • *
  • 42
    Posts
  • I *LOVE* 40k Online!
    • Awards
after my battle last night and yet again my stormraven was imobilised i was wondering what everyones thoughts are with taking a tech marine inside it, and then when its damaed he could just pop out and fix it?

not sure if it would work etc so any ideas.............. ....
« Last Edit: August 8, 2011, 08:54:22 AM by Mr.Peanut »
 

Re: your thoughts?
« Reply #1 on: August 5, 2011, 05:54:49 PM »
 

Hive Fleet Dread Q'thulu

  • Member
  • ***
  • 474
    Posts
  • Country: 00
    • Awards
well he wouldn't have to get out would he?
 

Re: your thoughts?
« Reply #2 on: August 7, 2011, 03:04:21 AM »
 

Azash76

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • 197
    Posts
  • I *LOVE* 40k Online!
    • Awards
He wouldn't have to get out at least as I understand the rules.

That being said it would depend on what your giving up from the list to fit the techmarine in its an elite slot and it's gonna run you in the neighborhood of 70 pts that's allot just for something that's not a given ability. I am assuming you give him a servo-harness to boost his odds so they are not complete crap. People have tried this with Land Raiders before personally I am not a fan but I've heard of it before.
 

Re: your thoughts?
« Reply #3 on: August 7, 2011, 05:41:12 AM »
 

WisdomLS

  • Ork Yoof
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • 1582
    Posts
  • Country: gb
  • BLOOD FOR THE ..... emperor?
    • Awards

  • Armies: SM (BA, BT, DA), Orks, Daemons, CSM, GK, IG
70+ points is alot to pay for a random chance to fix a problem that only occurs 1/6 times the vehicle is penetrated. This doesn't take into account the fact that you still lose the movement for a turn even if it is fixed and a stationary stormraven is generally a wreakage shortly after.

I believe the techmarine is allowed to fix vehicles from the inside due to a ruling in the FAQ.
 

Re: your thoughts?
« Reply #4 on: August 7, 2011, 11:08:59 AM »
 

Koval, Master Verispex

  • 40kOnline's Care Bear of Tanks | The Velvet Glove of Fated Tenderness and Ambition
  • Staff
  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • 3271
    Posts
  • Country: gb
  • Well, that was unexpected...
    • Awards

  • Armies: Imperial Guard (Indelvian 190th Mechanised)
Save your points. As Wisdom suggests, an immobilised Stormraven is more or less a write-off. Ignore the Techmarine and use your Elite slot to actually buy something useful -- it'll serve you better than a crappy chance to restore your Stormraven to working order one turn down the road.
 

Re: your thoughts?
« Reply #5 on: August 7, 2011, 01:30:58 PM »
 

Azash76

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • 197
    Posts
  • I *LOVE* 40k Online!
    • Awards
Well to be 100% honest and fair at 70 pts (once again assuming you have a servo harness for the +1) you have a 50/50 shot at fixing it. However test the theory out from your opponents point of view.

You just scored an immobilized on a storm raven with a techmarine on board. You have (for arguments sake) two more lascannon shots left available in your army. If he has two rhino hulled vehicles (its your army just using an example) are you going to use the lascannons on the storm raven or or the rhino hulls. Or say your opponent has an assault squad with a powerfist so they would get 3 auto hits next assault phase before you can move it. Also if you haven't gotten out he can surround the base and try and take out your whole cargo.

From that perspective your going to force your opponent to take another shot at it or assault it next turn and you have bought yourself a 70 pt diversion of one additional attack.
 

Re: your thoughts? [Tech Marine in a Storm Raven for repairs]
« Reply #6 on: August 8, 2011, 02:55:13 PM »
 

KJQ

  • Member
  • ***
  • 452
    Posts
  • Country: ca
  • Lead, follow, or get out of the way.
    • Awards
IMHO it's definitely not worth the points. The cost/benefit of a potential repair and a 'lost' elite slot is just not there. I don't even bother with extra armor on any of my vehicles any more, preferring to use the points on more useful stuff vice 'insurance'.  Sure, I get vehicles stopped or destroyed early on in some games. I just readjust tactics and foot slog my troops/dread elsewhere if that's what it comes down to.  A Stormraven is a fire magnet, especially if filled with troops and/or a dread. Try to force your opponent to shoot at other targets (i.e. razorbacks/rhinos/vindis/preds or even a dread or two in drop pods etc.  If he doesn't, you may well 'lose' the SR early, but then bring the pain with those other units. 
"Education is what remains after one has forgotten what one has learned in school. " - Albert Einstein
 

Re: your thoughts? [Tech Marine in a Storm Raven for repairs]
« Reply #7 on: August 8, 2011, 03:45:04 PM »
 

Ghostofman

  • Member
  • ***
  • 586
    Posts
    • Awards
It would work, but as everyone said, is it worth it.

I'm a little more supportive though. If it works for you, go for it, and there's certainly nothing that says you can't proxy it a game or two and see if it's worth it to you. If the SR is transporting a really hard hitting assault unit then it might be worth the trouble and the Tech is certainly no wuss in CC, especially if he's got a harness.
 

Re: your thoughts? [Tech Marine in a Storm Raven for repairs]
« Reply #8 on: August 8, 2011, 09:01:11 PM »
 

Partninja

  • Warlock
  • Lazerous Penguin
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Senior Member
  • *
  • 2052
    Posts
    • Awards
Consider a tech marine is not an IC that is a lot of points to transport just a dread (assuming a dread as why would you take an empty one?). As long as it survives to move 24" on one turn to get its contents within range of the enemy, it has done its job.
 

Re: your thoughts? [Tech Marine in a Storm Raven for repairs]
« Reply #9 on: August 13, 2011, 02:56:32 PM »
 

evildrcheese

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • 235
    Posts
  • Country: gb
  • Suffer not the witch to live.
    • Awards

  • Armies: Blood Angels, Sisters of Battle

Let's no forget that, since the SR is fast it can also taxi the tech about to try and repair other vehicles, if needed.

Also, as mentioned the tech is pretty handy in CC, and the SR is an assault vehicle, so he get across the board to assist in CC (if you don't travel flat out).

I'd say it's worth doing a proxy and seeing how it pans out to be honest!

Out of interest what are people’s thoughts on TechMarines in general?

D
 

Re: your thoughts? [Tech Marine in a Storm Raven for repairs]
« Reply #10 on: August 13, 2011, 03:56:38 PM »
 

Koval, Master Verispex

  • 40kOnline's Care Bear of Tanks | The Velvet Glove of Fated Tenderness and Ambition
  • Staff
  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • 3271
    Posts
  • Country: gb
  • Well, that was unexpected...
    • Awards

  • Armies: Imperial Guard (Indelvian 190th Mechanised)
Out of interest what are people’s thoughts on TechMarines in general?
A waste of a perfectly good Elite slot that I could use to buy another Dreadnought or some Terminators.

Master of the Forge, on the other hand, is something quite special.
 

Re: your thoughts? [Tech Marine in a Storm Raven for repairs]
« Reply #11 on: August 13, 2011, 06:00:06 PM »
 

MagicJuggler

  • Juggling a load of balls
  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • 1933
    Posts
  • Country: 00
  • Nobody expects the Spanish Ynquisition.
    • Awards
Wait...are we talking Blood Angels or Grey Knights?

It should be legal. Whether it's a valid idea depends on the army. With Blood Angels...it's not a good idea idea, if only because BA Techmarines are NOT independent characters and thus you would forfeit the ability to transport models in the first place.

Now, if it were a Grey Knight list, sure you could probably find use for a Techmarine. After all, Hammerhand stacks and sometimes you'd rather save your HQ slots for getting Inqusitors if only for more henchmen without the obligations of a Coteaz list...
 

Re: your thoughts? [Tech Marine in a Storm Raven for repairs]
« Reply #12 on: August 14, 2011, 09:35:55 PM »
 

KJQ

  • Member
  • ***
  • 452
    Posts
  • Country: ca
  • Lead, follow, or get out of the way.
    • Awards
Techmarines are not IC's in any SM army, they are elites, hence take up an elite slot. The only techmarine who is an IC is the Master of the Forge, and he is NOT in the BA or GK codex, so again a TM (alone) in a SR doesn't make sense to me.  The OP doesn't say what army he's playing. If you are playing vanilla marines, then the MotF might make sense to have join a squad in the SR. Make sure he has the dual servo arms and not the CB.
« Last Edit: August 14, 2011, 09:37:05 PM by KJQ »
"Education is what remains after one has forgotten what one has learned in school. " - Albert Einstein
 

Re: your thoughts? [Tech Marine in a Storm Raven for repairs]
« Reply #13 on: August 14, 2011, 10:23:34 PM »
 

Disciple of Nagash: GT

  • Neophyte | Iron Skull recipient
  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • 2798
    Posts
  • Country: ca
  • Mike Mudd 2011 Sportsman Award recipient :)
    • Awards
Techmarines are not IC's in any SM army, they are elites, hence take up an elite slot. The only techmarine who is an IC is the Master of the Forge, and he is NOT in the BA or GK codex, so again a TM (alone) in a SR doesn't make sense to me.  The OP doesn't say what army he's playing. If you are playing vanilla marines, then the MotF might make sense to have join a squad in the SR. Make sure he has the dual servo arms and not the CB.

I'm thinking you're meaning they're not HQ's, not not IC's, as all techmarines are independent characters, as far as I know.

I'm thinking what he was meaning was, because you can put a techmarine in a squad to allow for him to use hammerhand in addition to the squad using it, you don't have to use up an HQ slot to get a character in that squad for that purpose, instead using up one of the less competitive elites slots from a Grey Knight army.
« Last Edit: August 14, 2011, 10:25:35 PM by Disciple of Nagash: GT »
Reset my counters in prep for 6th:
Black Templars: 0/0/0
Dark Eldar (new codex): 0/0/0
 

Re: your thoughts? [Tech Marine in a Storm Raven for repairs]
« Reply #14 on: August 15, 2011, 01:04:57 AM »
 

Partninja

  • Warlock
  • Lazerous Penguin
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Senior Member
  • *
  • 2052
    Posts
    • Awards
Techmarines are not IC's in any SM army, they are elites, hence take up an elite slot. The only techmarine who is an IC is the Master of the Forge, and he is NOT in the BA or GK codex, so again a TM (alone) in a SR doesn't make sense to me.  The OP doesn't say what army he's playing. If you are playing vanilla marines, then the MotF might make sense to have join a squad in the SR. Make sure he has the dual servo arms and not the CB.

I'm thinking you're meaning they're not HQ's, not not IC's, as all techmarines are independent characters, as far as I know.

I'm thinking what he was meaning was, because you can put a techmarine in a squad to allow for him to use hammerhand in addition to the squad using it, you don't have to use up an HQ slot to get a character in that squad for that purpose, instead using up one of the less competitive elites slots from a Grey Knight army.

Tech marines are NOT ICs in in the BA codex. Not sure about GK, but they are the only two armies currently with Stormravens (which are part of the question at hand).

Techmarines are not IC's in any SM army, they are elites, hence take up an elite slot. The only techmarine who is an IC is the Master of the Forge, and he is NOT in the BA or GK codex, so again a TM (alone) in a SR doesn't make sense to me.  The OP doesn't say what army he's playing. If you are playing vanilla marines, then the MotF might make sense to have join a squad in the SR. Make sure he has the dual servo arms and not the CB.

Assuming KLQ knows his vanilla dex since he plays them, it would seem the normal Elite tech marine for any codex is not an IC.
« Last Edit: August 15, 2011, 01:09:44 AM by Partninja »
 

Re: your thoughts? [Tech Marine in a Storm Raven for repairs]
« Reply #15 on: August 15, 2011, 05:51:15 AM »
 

Disciple of Nagash: GT

  • Neophyte | Iron Skull recipient
  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • 2798
    Posts
  • Country: ca
  • Mike Mudd 2011 Sportsman Award recipient :)
    • Awards
Techmarines are not IC's in any SM army, they are elites, hence take up an elite slot. The only techmarine who is an IC is the Master of the Forge, and he is NOT in the BA or GK codex, so again a TM (alone) in a SR doesn't make sense to me.  The OP doesn't say what army he's playing. If you are playing vanilla marines, then the MotF might make sense to have join a squad in the SR. Make sure he has the dual servo arms and not the CB.

I'm thinking you're meaning they're not HQ's, not not IC's, as all techmarines are independent characters, as far as I know.

I'm thinking what he was meaning was, because you can put a techmarine in a squad to allow for him to use hammerhand in addition to the squad using it, you don't have to use up an HQ slot to get a character in that squad for that purpose, instead using up one of the less competitive elites slots from a Grey Knight army.

Tech marines are NOT ICs in in the BA codex. Not sure about GK, but they are the only two armies currently with Stormravens (which are part of the question at hand).

Techmarines are IC's for Grey Knights. I can say this for a fact as I have the codex right in front of me right now. Special Rules: Independent Character.
Reset my counters in prep for 6th:
Black Templars: 0/0/0
Dark Eldar (new codex): 0/0/0
 

Re: your thoughts? [Tech Marine in a Storm Raven for repairs]
« Reply #16 on: August 15, 2011, 09:45:41 AM »
 

KJQ

  • Member
  • ***
  • 452
    Posts
  • Country: ca
  • Lead, follow, or get out of the way.
    • Awards
Me bad. I did mix up HQ with IC.  For the record, a regular techmarine is not an HQ in C:SM, BA, or GK codexes.  He is an IC in C:SM and GK, but basic infantry in BA.  MotF is only in C:SM, and is an SC IC and HQ slot vice Elites.  So, at TM could join another infantry unit in an SR in C:SM and GK armies, but not in a BA army.
"Education is what remains after one has forgotten what one has learned in school. " - Albert Einstein
 

Re: your thoughts? [Tech Marine in a Storm Raven for repairs]
« Reply #17 on: August 15, 2011, 10:31:28 AM »
 

Koval, Master Verispex

  • 40kOnline's Care Bear of Tanks | The Velvet Glove of Fated Tenderness and Ambition
  • Staff
  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • 3271
    Posts
  • Country: gb
  • Well, that was unexpected...
    • Awards

  • Armies: Imperial Guard (Indelvian 190th Mechanised)
So, at TM could join another infantry unit in an SR in C:SM and GK armies, but not in a BA army.
No he couldn't, because the Stormraven is presently a Blood Angels- and Grey Knights-exclusive unit. Unless my Codex is missing some pages...
 

Re: your thoughts? [Tech Marine in a Storm Raven for repairs]
« Reply #18 on: August 15, 2011, 01:58:31 PM »
 

KJQ

  • Member
  • ***
  • 452
    Posts
  • Country: ca
  • Lead, follow, or get out of the way.
    • Awards
Doh! I did it again.  I failed to mention that our LGW has a store (house) rule that allows all SM variants to play the Stormraven.  Officially it is currently only allowed in BA and GK armies.
"Education is what remains after one has forgotten what one has learned in school. " - Albert Einstein
 

 


Powered by EzPortal

Facebook Comments