flood

News:

Login  |  Register

Author Topic: Two questionmarks regarding techmarines/MotF  (Read 523 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Luca Davo

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 133
  • apologize for my bad English
Two questionmarks regarding techmarines/MotF
« on: June 27, 2011, 04:00:49 PM »
  • Publish
  • Hello everyone, I used my Master of the Forge for the first time last week with great success, but the game aroused some questions.

    First; if I take a servitor does that fill up an elite slot?

    Second; does bolstering defences improve the "cover save" for vehicles?

    Best wishes
    David


    Offline KJQ

    • Member
    • ***
    • Posts: 452
    • Country: ca
    • Lead, follow, or get out of the way.
    Re: Two questionmarks regarding techmarines/MotF
    « Reply #1 on: June 27, 2011, 05:21:49 PM »
  • Publish
  • Although the SM codex specifies that the MotF can take servitor(s), it does not mention them being a retinue for him. In addition, he is an IC and SC, not a standard techmarine. Therefore, I believe one or more servitors would use up an elite slot in your list as the MotF would technically be joining them.  EDIT: SM FAQ Q138 says servitors don't count against FOC.

    Remember that vehicles don't get cover saves from being in area terrain per se (BRB pg 62). If they are >=50% obscured by a piece of terrain that confers a 3+ save to infantry, then the vehicle gets the 3+ save (unless otherwise modified by the rule exceptions).
    « Last Edit: June 29, 2011, 06:33:46 PM by KJQ »
    "Education is what remains after one has forgotten what one has learned in school. " - Albert Einstein

    Offline Luca Davo

    • Junior Member
    • **
    • Posts: 133
    • apologize for my bad English
    Re: Two questionmarks regarding techmarines/MotF
    « Reply #2 on: June 29, 2011, 11:55:31 AM »
  • Publish
  • Thanks, I totaly get it now... :)

    Offline Ironclad

    • Junior Member
    • **
    • Posts: 193
    • Country: us
    • We are the nothing.
    • Armies: Dark Angels
    Re: Two questionmarks regarding techmarines/MotF
    « Reply #3 on: June 29, 2011, 02:25:31 PM »
  • Publish
  • Are you sure thats right...pg. 138 in the codex says a techmarine or MOTF can include one unit of servitors.  No where does it say it takes an elite slot.  Besides the servitor entry is a little gray box like honour guard and Chronus and Telion and command squad,  none of which eat up a "slot" on the force organization chart.
    Hell follows behind me...

    Offline Chuckles, The Space Marine Clown

    • Can't Touch This; Captain; Swarmlord - Tyranid Sweatshop Operator; 40KO's Official WMD; "No American orphans, please"
    • Ancient
    • Hero Member
    • *****
    • Posts: 13095
    • Country: gb
    • I kill, maim and torture because I care
    Re: Two questionmarks regarding techmarines/MotF
    « Reply #4 on: June 29, 2011, 02:27:45 PM »
  • Publish
  • Are you sure thats right...pg. 138 in the codex says a techmarine or MOTF can include one unit of servitors.  No where does it say it takes an elite slot.  Besides the servitor entry is a little gray box like honour guard and Chronus and Telion and command squad,  none of which eat up a "slot" on the force organization chart.

    It's in the elite section, and unlike Honour Guard etc it doesn't say anywhere in their entry that they don't take up an FOC slot, therefore they take up an FOC slot.
    The forum rules are fair and just. *twitch*

    Offline Malfush

    • FLAMER: Forum Instigator, Banned
    • Junior Member
    • **
    • Posts: 168
    • Country: 00
    Re: Two questionmarks regarding techmarines/MotF
    « Reply #5 on: June 29, 2011, 04:14:09 PM »
  • Publish
  • Are you sure thats right...pg. 138 in the codex says a techmarine or MOTF can include one unit of servitors.  No where does it say it takes an elite slot.  Besides the servitor entry is a little gray box like honour guard and Chronus and Telion and command squad,  none of which eat up a "slot" on the force organization chart.

    It's in the elite section, and unlike Honour Guard etc it doesn't say anywhere in their entry that they don't take up an FOC slot, therefore they take up an FOC slot.


    Check the FAQ.

    Page 138 – Servitors.
    The first line should be changed at reprint to:
    “You may include one unit of Servitors for every
    Techmarine or Master of the Forge in your army. These
    units do not count against your HQ or Elites allowance.

    Offline Chuckles, The Space Marine Clown

    • Can't Touch This; Captain; Swarmlord - Tyranid Sweatshop Operator; 40KO's Official WMD; "No American orphans, please"
    • Ancient
    • Hero Member
    • *****
    • Posts: 13095
    • Country: gb
    • I kill, maim and torture because I care
    Re: Two questionmarks regarding techmarines/MotF
    « Reply #6 on: June 29, 2011, 04:22:21 PM »
  • Publish
  • Then they don't take up an FOC slot, but without that they would do
    The forum rules are fair and just. *twitch*

    Offline Ironclad

    • Junior Member
    • **
    • Posts: 193
    • Country: us
    • We are the nothing.
    • Armies: Dark Angels
    Re: Two questionmarks regarding techmarines/MotF
    « Reply #7 on: July 3, 2011, 11:56:39 AM »
  • Publish
  • Sorry I should of said check the FAQ, I was right though it would seem.
    Hell follows behind me...

     

    Powered by EzPortal

    Facebook Comments