You are Here:

+-

just a quick question ive been asking myself...

Author (Read 580 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

just a quick question ive been asking myself...
« on: June 25, 2011, 02:02:06 PM »
 

tomsev

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • 143
    Posts
  • Country: fr
  • space marines lead the way... all the way!
    • Awards
i was wondering if i have a captain with power sword and power fist can i for example us 2 attacks with the power sword and 2 with the powerfist?????
 

Re: just a quick question ive been asking myself...
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2011, 03:15:48 PM »
 

HiveFleetEzekial

  • Member
  • ***
  • 794
    Posts
    • Awards
Read the rulebook a little more. It answers more questions without having to ask people.  ;)

p42, bottom right corner: Two different special weapons.
 

Re: just a quick question ive been asking myself...
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2011, 03:51:46 PM »
 

tomsev

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • 143
    Posts
  • Country: fr
  • space marines lead the way... all the way!
    • Awards
thanks i was thinking is was to good to be true...
 

Re: just a quick question ive been asking myself...
« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2011, 09:59:48 PM »
 

tomsev

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • 143
    Posts
  • Country: fr
  • space marines lead the way... all the way!
    • Awards
a thunder hammer does not gain an extra attack in close combat for being with another close combat weapon so could i use a thunder hammer and a storm bolter or is it better to just use a relic blade and storm bolter???
 

Re: just a quick question ive been asking myself...
« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2011, 10:35:44 PM »
 

Disciple of Nagash: GT

  • Neophyte | Iron Skull recipient
  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • 2798
    Posts
  • Country: ca
  • Mike Mudd 2011 Sportsman Award recipient :)
    • Awards
a thunder hammer does not gain an extra attack in close combat for being with another close combat weapon so could i use a thunder hammer and a storm bolter or is it better to just use a relic blade and storm bolter???

Personal choice on that one really between the relic blade and the thunder hammer. Depends on the situation. Either way, not really a rules question.
Reset my counters in prep for 6th:
Black Templars: 0/0/0
Dark Eldar (new codex): 0/0/0
 

Re: just a quick question ive been asking myself...
« Reply #5 on: June 26, 2011, 07:03:40 PM »
 

The Master of Eternity

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • 220
    Posts
  • Those that do not fight, die.
    • Awards
And either which way it would almost be better to use either lysander or vulkan for a tiny bit more points for either but a major boost no matter which. just rename them. Unless you dont like taking and renaming special characters.
You are not free, those whose liberty is won by the rigor of other men. You are merely protected. Your freedom is parasitic, taking but offering nothing in return. You have freedom, but have done nothing to earn it. You will stand alone, and pay in blood. Know this and remember: my power knows no bounds save for that which is given to me through His mightiness the Omnissiah and most Holy Emperor of Mankind. ~ Forge Master Mordikai before the fall of Agridora
 

Re: just a quick question ive been asking myself...
« Reply #6 on: June 26, 2011, 07:36:30 PM »
 

tomsev

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • 143
    Posts
  • Country: fr
  • space marines lead the way... all the way!
    • Awards
can you legally do that i mean take a character and call him something whilst still using all his special rules??? i do like cato sicarus, which special hq would you advise?
 

Re: just a quick question ive been asking myself...
« Reply #7 on: June 26, 2011, 08:12:20 PM »
 

Lorizael

  • Farseer: Synergistic Spotter of Numpties
  • Staff
  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • 6628
    Posts
  • Country: 00
    • Awards
Yup indeed you can. It's in the spacemarine codex at the start of the army list (pg reference eludes me...).
You can basically use any character as a "counts as"- name him differently and paint him in your chapter colours and you're sorted. :)
 

Re: just a quick question ive been asking myself...
« Reply #8 on: June 26, 2011, 08:20:01 PM »
 

tomsev

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • 143
    Posts
  • Country: fr
  • space marines lead the way... all the way!
    • Awards
thats very cool, now all left is to choose which one to use... cato, lysander, pedro or vulkan i find vulkan and lysander are used far to much, i know they have very nice add ons but to many people use them so i thinking more between cato, (vulkan[just to good to not consider]) or pedro...
 

Re: just a quick question ive been asking myself...
« Reply #9 on: June 27, 2011, 02:21:24 AM »
 

Koval, Master Verispex

  • 40kOnline's Care Bear of Tanks | The Velvet Glove of Fated Tenderness and Ambition
  • Staff
  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • 3271
    Posts
  • Country: gb
  • Well, that was unexpected...
    • Awards

  • Armies: Imperial Guard (Indelvian 190th Mechanised)
Depends entirely on army composition. If you have a lot of the things that Vulkan boosts, go with Vulkan. If you can tailor your army around Sicarius, go with Sicarius. If you like the idea of Kantor being a cheerleader (seriously, he's practically a walking Chapter Banner) and/or you use Sternguard and/or Kirrahe's speech in the first Mass Effect game inspired you, go with Kantor.
 

Re: just a quick question ive been asking myself...
« Reply #10 on: June 27, 2011, 02:30:12 PM »
 

tomsev

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • 143
    Posts
  • Country: fr
  • space marines lead the way... all the way!
    • Awards
well ive got a 10 man strong sternguard squad, and was wondering because kantor makes them scoring, but lysander can make them re roll... so i dont know and i dont have termies so lysander will be alone in termie armour can he still go in a power armour command squad?
 

Re: just a quick question ive been asking myself...
« Reply #11 on: June 27, 2011, 05:24:48 PM »
 

Koval, Master Verispex

  • 40kOnline's Care Bear of Tanks | The Velvet Glove of Fated Tenderness and Ambition
  • Staff
  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • 3271
    Posts
  • Country: gb
  • Well, that was unexpected...
    • Awards

  • Armies: Imperial Guard (Indelvian 190th Mechanised)
well ive got a 10 man strong sternguard squad, and was wondering because kantor makes them scoring, but lysander can make them re roll... so i dont know and i dont have termies so lysander will be alone in termie armour can he still go in a power armour command squad?
Lysander suddenly becomes very, very expensive if you're using him only as a source of bolter re-rolls. Look at how much he costs, and how much better he'd be in close combat.

As for which squads he can join, being in Terminator Armour does not stop him from being an Independent Character, and certainly doesn't stop him from being Infantry, so that should be all you need to answer your question.
 

Re: just a quick question ive been asking myself...
« Reply #12 on: July 9, 2011, 04:14:36 PM »
 

Azash76

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • 197
    Posts
  • I *LOVE* 40k Online!
    • Awards
well ive got a 10 man strong sternguard squad, and was wondering because kantor makes them scoring, but lysander can make them re roll... so i dont know and i dont have termies so lysander will be alone in termie armour can he still go in a power armour command squad?

You could always try Using Pedro and Cassius in the same army. Combined your looking at a total cost of 300 pts so its not very practical in lists of 1500 or less. Cassius pound for pound and point for point is one of the best HQ's in the codex and one if not the best meat shield in the game (@125pts). Cassius gives the melee unit rerolls pedro gives them +1 attack. Combined with Assault terminators it makes for one of the best Death Star Units in the game besides the Vulkan Termie Death Star units.
 

 


Powered by EzPortal

Facebook Comments