I don't want to hi-jack another thread, so I'll start a new one on this topic.
The new Codex: Space Marines uses the phrase, "The Space Marine Sergeant may replace his boltgun and/or bolt pistol with:" in several unit entries. It then lists some options that may be so exchanged. Next, it lists some options under the heading, "The Space Marine Sergeant may take:".
So far, I've interpreted this wording, when taken in context with the other, to mean that in order to equip the Sgt with one of the weapons in the former list, you must exchange it for one of the two he automatically comes with. At the same time, you may equip him with any weapon from the latter list without having to make any exchange.
However, I've seen it posted several places that the phrase, "...may replace his boltgun and/or his bolt pistol..." means that he may replace one, both, or neither when equipping himself with one of the weapons from that list.
I agree that when taken by itself, this statement does seem to give the option to keep the originally equipped weapons, but I believe the word 'may' does not allow the option of taking weapons from that list without actually replacing any. First, that option would make the second list obsolete; they could have simply included the second list within the first rather than giving them a separate heading. Second, that second heading makes it clear (when taken in context with the first) that there is a difference in how items from those respective lists may be equipped on a SM Sgt.
Have I misinterpreted this wording or missed another rule that would alter my understanding of this part of the rules?