2

News:

Login  |  Register

Author Topic: Using layers or washes?  (Read 1584 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline 4084595657

  • Grot
  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1479
  • Country: af
Using layers or washes?
« on: November 12, 2008, 12:45:57 PM »
OK i've been told by a few people that the way i paint is getting a bit dated.

My original way:

Ok for say... a red tabard i would...

Go mechrite red over a black undercoat and cover completely

Go red gore over this, leaving mechrite visable in the deepest folds of the tabard..

Go blood red over this painting only the highest parts


People have recomended washes and they say it has a better result..

Anyone else got an opinion on this because i've seen washes and they look cool. But i was wondering if a combination of the two would work well.

P.S starting a new dwarf army and i want them to look good for a change :P My other armies "lack" nice armour.


Offline Raktra (So long, I guess)

  • Skarboy | Ripper | Princess of Baal
  • Lazerous Penguin
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6525
  • Country: gb
  • Armies: Grey Knights
Re: Using layers or washes?
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2008, 12:57:06 PM »
How many times have I told you black wash?

Granted, it isn't the be all and end all, but it's certainly the one I use the most.

Lovely lovely wash.

Offline 4084595657

  • Grot
  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1479
  • Country: af
Re: Using layers or washes?
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2008, 01:04:25 PM »
Mostly people at the club i go to say they use washes and their models are lovely :)

Offline Cakes on a plane

  • I'm Lucy!
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 630
  • Country: 00
  • I'm velvety and red. YAY!
Re: Using layers or washes?
« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2008, 01:07:29 PM »
finding out which washes work best for each shade of colour is important. in your case i would go Mechrite,red gore and the blood red highlights then followed up by a baal red wash to blend them all together. if it doesnt look right you could try another colour or layer washes.
Losing to Raktra consistently since 2007...still

"I love the smell of promethium in the morning"

Offline Raktra (So long, I guess)

  • Skarboy | Ripper | Princess of Baal
  • Lazerous Penguin
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6525
  • Country: gb
  • Armies: Grey Knights
Re: Using layers or washes?
« Reply #4 on: November 12, 2008, 01:08:19 PM »
Yeah man, washes are a Godsend. Look at my Knights, or Ghazghkull, I used washes on all of them, it dramtically imporves the look of the model.

Offline 4084595657

  • Grot
  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1479
  • Country: af
Re: Using layers or washes?
« Reply #5 on: November 12, 2008, 01:08:45 PM »
I'll have a look this saturday when i pick up my dwarf thane, but the problem is i use loads of colours on my dwarves. I dont want to have loads of them the same. My cannon crew is red,blue and  green :P

So its guna take alot of washes

Offline Cakes on a plane

  • I'm Lucy!
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 630
  • Country: 00
  • I'm velvety and red. YAY!
Re: Using layers or washes?
« Reply #6 on: November 12, 2008, 01:10:22 PM »
you dont have to use loads, and if you're batch painting you could always go form patch to patch with  the same brush load of wash and just top up.
Losing to Raktra consistently since 2007...still

"I love the smell of promethium in the morning"

Offline 4084595657

  • Grot
  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1479
  • Country: af
Re: Using layers or washes?
« Reply #7 on: November 12, 2008, 01:12:41 PM »
Yeah, but all my dwarves are different colours. I might try batch painting, i never really do that. I usually paint each one on its own. More fun that way :)

Offline Cakes on a plane

  • I'm Lucy!
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 630
  • Country: 00
  • I'm velvety and red. YAY!
Re: Using layers or washes?
« Reply #8 on: November 12, 2008, 01:14:15 PM »
i think army's look better uniform but it's your hobby dude do what you feel's best :D
 
Losing to Raktra consistently since 2007...still

"I love the smell of promethium in the morning"

Offline Raktra (So long, I guess)

  • Skarboy | Ripper | Princess of Baal
  • Lazerous Penguin
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6525
  • Country: gb
  • Armies: Grey Knights
Re: Using layers or washes?
« Reply #9 on: November 12, 2008, 01:14:48 PM »
It certainly adds some extra sparkle to a model. I take about 6 hours to do one Chaos Knight.

Offline 4084595657

  • Grot
  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1479
  • Country: af
Re: Using layers or washes?
« Reply #10 on: November 12, 2008, 01:16:13 PM »
Time doesn't matter much, its just that my highlights are not the best in the world, infact...far from it. Just i was wondering if washes would improve it.

Offline Aislinn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 891
  • Country: us
  • "If it bleeds, we can kill it"
Re: Using layers or washes?
« Reply #11 on: November 14, 2008, 07:48:24 PM »
I use a combo. of both because I like to hit spots on the model differently than other parts, for highlights... but I want all the transitions of the highlights to be smoothed out.  I also, don't get the depth I need from the washes alone.  This has been my technique for a long time, except now I use the washes instead of the ink... albeit they're not as effective as the inks, but they serve their purpose. 
  "Their song shall die first!"

 


Powered by EzPortal