News: No news is good news...

Login  |  Register

Author Topic: P3 Core techniques DVD reviewed.  (Read 963 times)

Offline Noxpredor

P3 Core techniques DVD reviewed.
« on: November 14, 2008, 11:39:03 PM »
Well I am new to the hobby of figure painting about 6 months in and I have yet to complete one from start to finish because I am not satisfied with my painting skill ( that and I am a paramedic putting a wife through nursing school working 90 plus hours on an ambulance and hospital together). So that being said I bought a couple of painting how to DVDs to improve my skills as I have no time to go to a GW to hang out. Anyway this as most of my post is just a smattering of my thoughts. So onto the review.

This video is put out by Privateer Press or the makers of Warmachine and Hordes. This DVD is made to be an intro into our hobby teaching you the same things that can be found on forums and youtube but in a much nicer medium and without the hours of web crawling and forum hopping. The DVD is well put together as things go very clean and easy to navigate. It is well narrated and the photography seems spot on. The info is what it is supposed to be very basic this DVD will take you up to good tabletop quality figs it seems.

It starts off with tools what they are  and how to use them no surprises here. Then we move on to 4 techniques and how to employ them. Finally there are 3 types of figures that are painted, a warjack, a warcaster, and a beast painted from start to finish. The warjack would compare to armour or maybe a space marine, the warcaster relates to any figure from a sm to a chapter master to Imperial gaurd, the beast is comparable to a tyranid or other organic.