News: No news is good news...

Login  |  Register

Author Topic: Tips for Painting Stripes?  (Read 1623 times)

Offline Cripple X

Tips for Painting Stripes?
« on: July 31, 2007, 04:28:12 PM »
Hey Guys,

I'm a newbie to the hobby who has decided to start a Saim-Hann army.  I bought and assembled a Jetbike.  The painting was going great until I tried to paint the black stripe design.  Needless to say it turned out horrendously.  I'm not much of a free-hander and to be quite honest my hands aren't the steadiest.  Are there any tips that you all could give me for painting the stripes so that I get a nice even and straight design? Thank you very much.

Offline Werwolf Traitor

Re: Tips for Painting Stripes?
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2007, 04:31:53 PM »
I used tape to mark a line i want to draw on the model, try it out.

Offline Skeeve

• Brushmaster 5000
    • My painting Blog
« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2007, 06:15:27 PM »
Or you can do it other way around. Prime bike, Put your tape on the bike. Paint the background around, take it out, paint the line

Offline Lorizael

• GW Shill: Infinity Circuit: Synergistic Spotter of Numpties
  • Ancient
« Reply #3 on: July 31, 2007, 09:36:48 PM »
And when people say tape, use masking tape. It's made for this kind of thing and much better than selotape (I've seen people try that...)

Offline moc065

• Infinity Circuit / Necrontyr Lord / KoN Warlord
  • Ancient
  • King of the Preemptive Strike
    • klucas.piczo.com
« Reply #4 on: August 1, 2007, 06:45:26 AM »
There are many ways to get good lines or stripes and size is often the deciding factor on which is better.