News: No news is good news...

Login  |  Register

Author Topic: 750 pts standard  (Read 1604 times)

Offline stuart.palmer1

• Newest
  • I *LOVE* 40k Online!
750 pts standard
« on: November 15, 2013, 08:47:24 AM »
Hey all, new to the forum and first post..... anyway, here goes. I'm new to 40K, and am planning my first Tau army, something multipurpose that I can build on. Can you give pointers on my list?

HQ - Ethereal = 2 Markerlights

Troops 2 x 10 Fire Warriors

Elites 3 x Crisis, each with 1 flamer, 1 x twin-linked fusion blasters

Fast Attack 2 x Piranha, each with blacksun filters, gun drones and fusion blasters

Heavy 2 x Hammerhead, each with blacksun, railgun and twin-linked smart missile

Planning on a pretty stationary formation, with the exception of the Piranha flanking and taking out tanks or heavy troops as necessary.

Look forward to your improvements!

Offline Wyddr

• Author Eminence: Hereticus Liber Daemonica | Fio'shas Shi
  • Lazerous Penguin
    • My blog about SF/F stuff
  • Armies: Daemons, Imperial Fists, Tau, Ksons, Vostroyans
Re: 750 pts standard
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2013, 10:02:10 AM »
Hi there! Welcome to the forum!

So, to the list:

HQ - Ethereal = 2 Markerlights

Hmmmm...generally I prefer an Ethereal in a Devilfish cruising around with Firewarriors over standing in a crowd waiting to get pummeled. He does have some pretty useful abilities for resisting damage (Sense of Stone, the Price of Failure, etc.), but his offensive abilities are much better (Storm of Fire, Zephyr's Grace) and work best when operating at short range. In a long-range static list, I think a Cadre Fireblade is maybe the better choice. You'll get better mileage out of your foot FWs and a Target Locked Markerlight to boot that uses a much better BS than those two drones. The Fireblade also works out to ~15 points cheaper than the Ethereal + Drones and is more likely to survive a sniper's bullet.

Troops 2 x 10 Fire Warriors