News: No news is good news...

Login  |  Register

Author Topic: New guy - Needs help planning army.  (Read 643 times)

Offline youonlywish

New guy - Needs help planning army.
« on: September 7, 2008, 01:33:27 PM »
Hello everyone.

I've introduced myself in a separate thread and consequently, have learned the rules of this forum. Unfortunately I have spent most of my time on another forum, who's rules are much more flex. It is refreshing to see a group of people commited to seeing thier forum have some sort of presentability.

So, I've decided to start up a Guard army. I have no previous experience with Warhammer 40k, but much experience with other games of similar nature. I have a gaggle of questions for the all-knower's around here, before I trot off and start buying.

After the questions, I have an outline

I have the codex and the rulebook. I've read through the Codex and some of the rulebook. The questions I've asked below are the result of not being able to find the information on my own, or not understanding something I've read already. Thank you in advance to anyone who can help me out...

1) To start off, I'd like to explore my options in which particular regiment I'd like to design. I've chosen the Steel Legion. Can I make up my own regiment, as in, title and colours?

2) I've seen that, for a point value, you can equip certain people with different weapons. How do grenades work, as in, frag and krak grenades? Are they separate peices for the model?

3) For a tank to be usable (move and shoot) in game, I assume it requires a crew. When I buy the model, does it come with the crew?

4) In both the HQ platoon and the Inf platoons, they require an officer to 'run' them. I'm having a hard time distinguishing 'who' these officers are.