News: No news is good news...

Login  |  Register

Author Topic: Necron tournament mathhammer  (Read 2359 times)

Offline Rene

• Used to be Ghostwriter - back after a long break:)
  • Armies: Tyranid, Eldar, Space Marines, Necron
Necron tournament mathhammer
« on: May 15, 2013, 03:13:50 PM »
Hey
Below is a video that looks at how wraiths performed in differents situations from a tournament I just played. I am new to Necrons so for most of you, this is probably well-known, hope you other new robot-fans find it useful :)

Necron Tournament Mathhammer

Offline Idaho

Re: Necron tournament mathhammer
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2013, 07:33:56 AM »
What sort of list do you take the Wraith squad in?

I find they work best with a Destroyer Lord at their head to tank the wounds and cause opponents to throw disproportionate amounts of fire at them.

Charging Terminators is very situational and generally ill advised unless you've weakened them first.

The best advice I can give though is target saturation! Throwing a unit of Wraiths up the table, even with a Destroyer Lord in attendance, will hand the initiative to the opponent as you just stand there and hope they fluff their shooting. I use 2 units of Heavy Destroyers and Ghost Ark Warriors to put pressure on opponents.

Nice reports though. You're playing quality opponents and holding your own so you're clearly a good player!

Offline Rene

• Used to be Ghostwriter - back after a long break:)
  • Armies: Tyranid, Eldar, Space Marines, Necron
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2013, 01:43:22 PM »
Thanks for your feedback :)

I fielded them in two groups of five, together with three annihalation barges and 4 Nightscythes with warriors and haywire cryptek, and a single nothing-special-lord.