News: No news is good news...

Login  |  Register

Author Topic: Bretonnia or Skaven?  (Read 1166 times)

Offline DeathShadoww

• Wound one and Wound All
Bretonnia or Skaven?
« on: December 4, 2009, 04:11:07 PM »
So im new to fantasy, ive done 40k got 2 armies eldar and SM. I want to know what everyone thinks is a better starting army Bretonnia or Skaven. I like both but dont know which would be more forgiving to a begginer :-\

Offline Greg23

• I *LOVE* EO and 40K.ca
Re: Bretonnia or Skaven?
« Reply #1 on: December 4, 2009, 05:20:49 PM »
I have both armies, so I would have to say Brets are a better beginner army.  The high armor of the Knights plus their ward saves makes the units very forgiving when mistakes happen.

Skaven is all about the raw numbers they field, so cash-wise $$$, it's a rough army for noobs to start off with.

But if you want sneaky stuff (assassins, "infiltrators", "deep-strike"ish abilities, poison attacks, etc) definitely go Skaven.

Offline Rasmus

• The Ratcatcher
  • Ancient
  • Lost Roads are now found!
    • 40kOnline
  • Armies: Squats
« Reply #2 on: December 7, 2009, 04:47:01 AM »
Skaven are a lot trickier to play well, and a lot less forgiving.
Brets are a bit more "hammer"-like, which allows you to slam into your enemies down and proceed. Not a lot can go wrong and not a long needs to be carefully planned.

Lost Roads - finally released!

YouTube-clip of my Squat army.

Offline NecronCell2131

• KoN Veteran
  • Mindshackle Scarabs Abuser
  • Armies: Necrons, Vampire counts
« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2009, 03:28:20 PM »
Its true that brets have the nice hammer style with good armour but with the codex getting old its becoming harder and harder to compete with the latest issues such as dark elves, chaos,vamps, and skaven.

Skaven will have a nice playing style though as they say will take quite a while to field since most armies have 2-3 units of 20-30 slaves and then the regular clan rats, blah blah blah...