News: No news is good news...

Login  |  Register

Author Topic: How do to equip the boyz: Slugga or Shoota?  (Read 4604 times)

Offline spotaflint33

How do to equip the boyz: Slugga or Shoota?
« on: December 3, 2010, 12:35:18 PM »
After I moved I've finally been able to restart work on my Ork army and get my Ork sprues from my parents house.  I've been cranking out lists by the tens due to the nature of my job (I'm a substitute teacher so I just sit there and read most of the time), but I came up with a conundrum, which is are shoota boyz worth it?  I have more then enough shootas to build a 20 strong unit or into a 16 strong unit (but would prefer the 20 as it gets 2 big shootas or rokkits).  Does anyone use Shoota boyz or is it pure slugga as a prefrence? 

I do have other units I'm working on and mixing old and new bits so I do have other stuff to work with, I am just wondering which of the two is better and what the community thinks of them. 

Offline WisdomLS

• Ork Yoof
  • BLOOD FOR THE ..... emperor?
  • Armies: SM (BA, BT, DA), Orks, Daemons, CSM, GK, IG
Re: How do to equip the boyz: Slugga or Shoota?
« Reply #1 on: December 3, 2010, 12:49:29 PM »
An eresting question, I use both depending on thee size of the unit and if it's transported or not.

With 30 strong boyz slogging up the field I like the shootas. They have an ok range and 60 shots is a danger to anything, when you charge you still get 90 attacks which is anought to win most fights. I like this unit with 3 big shootas as well.

I don't like 20 on foot but if I did they'd have sluggas as they don't quite have the numbers to overwelm in cc without them. I usually field this size unit in a wagon, often with a big mek and when used as such I like shootas all the way, the fact you can trace LOS from the vehicle coupled with the fact that I often don't want to get out make them an exellent choice.