News: No news is good news...

Login  |  Register

Author Topic: Newbie Painter: Brush Hooking at the tip  (Read 1865 times)

Offline Yoyi

Newbie Painter: Brush Hooking at the tip
« on: November 6, 2007, 02:17:41 PM »
I am pretty new at 40k. I bought my IG army close to a year ago but after assembly I had to move away for a while. Now that I am back I want to pick it up again. So I am painting it now. This is my first attempt at painting miniatures so bear with me. I have some pictures of the progress so far in my other post

http://www.40konline.com/index.php?topic=148745.0

I am having a bit of a problem with my small brushes. After 5-6 models they start to hook at the tip. I don't know if this is normal or if I am doing something wrong. Granted the little hook tip helps quite a bit in some details but over all is a bit annoying.

I have a few back up brushes that I am using but they too have begun hooking at the tip.

Another question is that I keep reading about building up color in thin layers. I have tried this as well as painting straight from the pot( I'm pretty sure this is not recommended but My paint kept drying up on my palette) And haven't had any problems with paint clumping by using straight paint. I only use it like that for things like the guardsmen armor and helmets, for the pants I am using a very light almost dry brushed Codex Grey.   

Offline in_jeopardy

Re: Newbie Painter: Brush Hooking at the tip
« Reply #1 on: November 6, 2007, 02:28:32 PM »
They could just be bad quality brushes. So I'd invest in better ones if you think that could be it.

Though more likely than not it's (and I've had to condition myself into not doing this too, because I did up until recently) that you're leaving the brush(es) in a pot of water when you wash them in between paints rather than giving them a quick shake and taking them back out.

Though it doesn't do any noticeable damage, it does over time, bend the brush.

Offline Plague Tower of Nurgle

• Ork Boy