News: No news is good news...

Login  |  Register

Author Topic: Tyranid painting question  (Read 1045 times)

Offline Sparto

Tyranid painting question
« on: February 26, 2009, 05:07:12 PM »
Hey ... I am new to nids (done IG for over a yr or so) and I am stuck when painting.  My scheme is a base of regal blue with black wash, then bleach bone for the back and sything talons (only doning gene stealers so far), then a highlight of ice blue.  My question is feeder tendrils what color would look good and if any one could give me a pointer on painting technique would be great.  Cheers.

Sparto
« Last Edit: February 26, 2009, 09:41:08 PM by Chuckles »

Offline Snike

• ...I personally prefer the term "beyond faith".
Re: Tyranid painting question
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2009, 03:33:45 AM »
Could you show us a picture? Of what you described I can pretty much imagine what they look like and my first thought was "a reverse scheme would look cooler". But that's just me giving my opinions when no-one was asking them.
About what you asked; what colour are the mouths and cracks in the skin and joints of your Nids? I would paint the tendrils with the same colour. Otherwise, a fleshy or fishy (pale, slimy-looking) paint job could look nice if done properly.
I'LL BE BACK SOON!

CSM - Nurgle - The Dead Company of Morgion - 4900+ points and growing
Nids - Hive Fleet Thanatos - 2100 points and growing (reaaally slowly)
Coming maybe someday: Orks - Da Black Jawz

Check this out! :D

Offline Sparto

« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2009, 01:03:03 PM »