News:

Login  |  Register

Author Topic: charging with Characters?  (Read 382 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline magenb

  • Aspect Warrior
  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1375
  • Country: au
  • I *LOVE* 40k Online!
charging with Characters?
« on: January 6, 2018, 03:43:16 PM »
So this scenario popped up the other day.

_________________

Enemy.


Screening unit.
Character.
_________________

The character charges the enemy first, but does not take overwatch fire as technically they are not the closest enemy unit. This was also supported by wording in the overwatch section of the rule book stating that overwatch shooting is resolved like a normal shooting attack.



Is this a legit tactic?

Offline Changeyname

  • Mek| I gotz da loudz WAAAAAAAAAAGH! | Battlefield Orkespondent | Best Modeller | This years Dizz (I lose by choice!)
  • Staff
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3982
  • Country: wales
  • Wolverine or double Batman.... you decide
Re: charging with Characters?
« Reply #1 on: January 6, 2018, 05:58:33 PM »
'Fraid not sorry dude

Rulebook FAQ says that a unit can declare overwatch at a character when he declares his charge even if there are other closer, visible enemy units to the unit being charged

Penultimate question of page 2
« Last Edit: January 6, 2018, 06:00:17 PM by Changeyname »
The Blackest Night falls from the skies,
The darkness grows as all light dies,
We crave your hearts and your demise,
By my black hand--The dead shall rise!

Offline magenb

  • Aspect Warrior
  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1375
  • Country: au
  • I *LOVE* 40k Online!
Re: charging with Characters?
« Reply #2 on: January 7, 2018, 03:28:03 PM »
thanks.

Offline admironheart

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 57
  • Country: us
  • later
  • Armies: Eldar,Exodites,Harlequins.Squats,Dark Eldar&BA
Re: charging with Characters?
« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2018, 11:03:06 AM »
Remember if a character uses Heroic Intervention on your opponents turn, That DOES NOT count as charging.  I guess he just causually wades into the conflict.
"Battles are decided by slaughter and maneuver.  The greater the general, the more he contributes in manuever, the less he demands in slaughter"...Winston Churchill

Offline Killersquid

  • The Cause of Diabetes -Captain- Necrontyr Immortal - KoN Veteran - Master of All Diplomacy | Wi-Fi Nomad |
  • Staff
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8363
  • Country: ca
    • My Website
  • Armies: Harlequins, Iron Warriors, Khorne Bloodbound
Re: charging with Characters?
« Reply #4 on: January 12, 2018, 12:27:26 PM »
Remember if a character uses Heroic Intervention on your opponents turn, That DOES NOT count as charging.  I guess he just causually wades into the conflict.

You can also Heroic Intervention, even if your opponent makes no charge moves that turn, as long as the character is within 3" of an enemy.
Harlequin Army Blog

That's not blatant, this is blatant: I'm super happy that I'm playing Austria, the greatest nation in all of Diplomacy!

Azore of Austria

 


Powered by EzPortal