News: No news is good news...

Login  |  Register

Author Topic: Looking at ideas for 500 points worth of Allies with Al'Rahem  (Read 1359 times)

Offline Swamp Rat

I'm currently using Mantis Warriors as a long term project, and figured, with the new rules, i could feasibly add that Guard unit i've always had my eye on.

Keeping with the Theme of the Mantis Warriors, deserts, i figured that Al'Rahem was the best way forwards.

I've never done Guard before, at least with nothing more than a passing interest. This is probably another of those. Money is tight these days, but i'm quite open to jig this up as much as i can. The intention would be to have Al'Rahem and his boys outflank, and try and grab any objective i can, whilst the rest would support that.

HQ

Company Command Squad - Astropath, 4 Sniper Rifles

Troops

Infantry Platoon - Command Squad - Al'Rahem

Infantry Squad - Grenade Launcher, Power Maul

Infantry Squad - Grenade Launcher, Power Maul

Fast Attack

Sentinel Squadron - 3 with autocannons

Elites

Sniper Squad (Ratlings) - 5

500 points. I'm leaving the anti tank to my Mantis Warriors, they're good at that, whilst the Sentinel's are there to hit any light transports, and the Ratlings and Command squad are there to pick off men. 9 bs4 sniper shots mean that i should be picking a person off every couple of turns, whilst the Astropath lets me re-roll Al'Rahem's Outflank roll, and, apparently any reserve rolls my Mantis Warriors might be making too. Al'Rahem and his boys pretty much just blitz and swamp any objectives that are there. Not looking to claim them, or shift anyone off of them, just swamp them with enough people to contest any objectives.

Does anyone have any experience with Al'Rahem? He seems to be quite aggressive, yet more of a harrying unit than anything else. I'm unsure about the Ratlings, i really don't like the models, and may just use some Sniper models, but i'm quite happy to drop them for something better.