News: No news is good news...

Login  |  Register

Author Topic: Iyanden Wraithlist painting blog + modelling questions.  (Read 46274 times)

Offline vonny

• I *LOVE* 40k OFFline!
  • Armies: Tyranids, Lamenters (BA), Eldar (Iyanden), 1k Sons
Iyanden Wraithlist painting blog + modelling questions.
« on: March 10, 2014, 08:53:34 AM »
Hello everyone,

I was pointed towards this forum to post up some of my more recent work and to ask the community for some advice on my current and upcoming projects.

My biggest love in 40k are the Tyranids. Now, that may be a strange way to start a topic on eldar, but ever since I got to know their background (pretty soon after I started playing them) I toyed with the idea of an Iyanden army. I loved the story of how Iyanden, once the largest of craftworlds, had been brought low and now had to fight for survival using the most desperate of measures. While there was a seperate codex with special rules for the various craftworlds back then, I was still hard at work painting up my tyranids (a task that never ends) and couldn't spare the time or money to start an Eldar army.

Now, with the Iyanden supplement, plastic wraithguard, and the ghost army deal last christmas, and a birthday soon after, I figured this might be THE moment to get into the eldar. And, as it turns out, it was. Even though, looking through the forum, that I might come off as bandwagoning a bit. :S

Anyway, first off, my first unit. In an attempt to make the army as edition-proof as possible I magnetized the arms so I can still make them with swords too - but I haven't assembled or painted the other set of arms yet.

In the middle you see an unofficial squad leader. I made this just for some visual interest and to tie it in with the family trees of Iyanden without having to freehand that on all of the models.

Close up of this leader. Not sure if I want the iyanden symbol to stay white, or make the flame or the whole symbol yellow.