News: No news is good news...

Login  |  Register

Author Topic: Eldar Lore and List Building  (Read 2493 times)

Offline Socialtrader

• I *LOVE* 40k Online!
Eldar Lore and List Building
« on: June 28, 2018, 01:10:00 AM »
Hello Elder experts...

I'm attending an event later this year and need to settle on a list so that I can make the necessary purchases and get painting. This event is hobby-focused (which I think is a positive) but as I am very new to the whole 40k universe I'm at a bit of a loss when it comes to lore and theme and what would be considered 'power gaming'. I would love some feedback on the following three lists - basically I'm looking for which one you consider fluffiest according to the criteria...and why.

First, the criteria:

"The idea for FOB is to play cool games on great tables with fair armies. I don't want people being tabled Turn 2 by the latest internet beatstick so I am trying to incentivise/encourage more balanced armies than the current tournament norm.

My aim is to have people turn up and have six tightly contested games....

The two key criteria here are Theme and Balance and they go hand in hand. The armies that score well at FOB will be "in Theme" and they will be balanced. Some things that will score you well:

Single Book selection - dragging things from multiple books generally is done for efficiency rather than theme e.g. a CP battery to power a beatstick.

Selection reflects theme. Read your codex e.g. if you are Ulthwe then I want to see Guardians, Warlock Conclave, not Reapers and Spears. Same with Alaiaoc - Rangers, Autarch, War Walkers not just Eldar with +1 to Hit. This works for every codex....Hivefleet is not just a trait etc

Leadership options - I'm going to give anything overly invested in HQs a second glance. I don't think Mortarion comes out to solve a dispute over lunch money.
Combined arms...Not just Characters, Troop Tax and Heavy Support for example. If you have a variety of Force Org slots then great.