News: No news is good news...

Login  |  Register

Author Topic: Chronicles of the Dragoons  (Read 2011 times)

Offline Phytrion

• I *LOVE* 40k Online!
Chronicles of the Dragoons
« on: October 25, 2008, 03:09:14 PM »
Note: I've written a decent amount about warhammer fantasy (and got a character mentioned by GW in the Storm of Chaos campaign :D ), but this is my first attempt at writing for 40k.  Comments, tips, feedback all welcomed.  This story is chronicling the adventures of my space marine army I'm assembling.

Without further ado:

Chronicles of the Dragoons

Prologue

The first sensation that flooded through Octavian’s senses was the stink of ozone that still lingered in the air from the voracious rounds of melta fire that ended only minutes before.  He attempted to get his bearings, only to find his vision obscured by a thick red cloud of his own blood.  His hands frantically played over his head in search of the wound, and he quickly thanked the Emperor that it was only a gash over his eyebrow and nothing more serious.

Smearing the blood on the tile floor next to him, the guardsman looked around at what once was the entrance to the research bunker.  The gleaming walls were replaced with stumps of concrete that stood barely a foot off the ground – the rest was reduced to atoms in the assault. 

In the distance, he could hear alarm klaxons in portions of the compound that weren’t as devastated as where he was lying.  What was missing; however, was the sound of las guns discharging.  From what he could hear and see, all resistance had been eliminated while he was unconscious.