News: No news is good news...

Login  |  Register

Author Topic: Newb questions about Tyrandis  (Read 1563 times)

Offline nosferatubgc

• I *LOVE* 40k Online!
Newb questions about Tyrandis
« on: March 24, 2013, 01:00:05 AM »
Good evening, I have been playing another tabletop war-game for several years and now to support a friend's local comic shop I am going to start playing 40k.  I have always had a fascination with the game and especially Tyranids, I love the look of the models.  I have been reading over the 6th Edition rules and my 5th edition Tyranid codex, I guess that this is the latest book for our army.  I have a couple questions listed below:

1. Are Scything Talons/Rending Claws two weapons to grant the extra attack bonus? 

2. Does the whole unit have to be in range of a Synapse Creature to gain the benefits or does only one model in the unit need to be in range?

3. Do Lashwhips reduce the initiative of the entire unit or only those b2b with the model equipped with it?

4. I bought my first unit of Tyranid Warrior and looking it over it only has one sheet "L" so it had only one set of Rending Claws and extra set of Scything Talons, is this how is normally meant to come?

I appreciate any help and answers, thank you.

Offline tyraniddude

• I *LOVE* 40k Online!
Re: Newb questions about Tyrandis
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2013, 02:38:13 AM »
as you can tell by my user name I like Tyranids alot and have been playing them for many years
anyway,
1. neither give you an extra attack
2. nope, only one and even then, only PART of its base
3. only the model (or models) in B2B
4. that is totaly normal (stupid if you ask me, but normal)

Offline GaleRazorwind

• Hormagaunt
  • Ziltoid Lives!
  • Armies: Nids, BA, CSM
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2013, 02:54:32 AM »
Tyraniddude summed everything up quite nicely.