News: No news is good news...

Login  |  Register

Author Topic: Painting with difficult paints  (Read 3961 times)

Offline Jerseyboy381

• The Jersey General
Painting with difficult paints
« on: June 21, 2008, 03:31:48 PM »
I finally started the Tau I've been toying with for some time now.  I thought I had a great color scheme planned.  I'd do a black prime then use red gore for the main color and codex grey for the trim/random armor panels like you see in Tau so often.  Last night I started painting a crisis suit and the red gore isn't covering well at all.  I've done 3 light coats and it's just now starting to look passable.  I figure one more light coat will do it, but if every model will take this much work, I'm going to have to rethink things.  Is there anything I could do to get the paint to coat better?  If I don't have a way soon, I'll probably invert the scheme and make the red the secondary and grey the primary.  That way I can still use the red model as my Shas'o and he'll stand out as the HQ.  Any ideas?

PS, I use Citadel paints.
Everyone else is doing it so...Behold the great General's gaming blog!
Armies: ULTRAmarines!, Necron, Vampire Counts, Pure Nurgle CSM.
Work-in-progress armies:Tau, Orks, Empire.

Offline Sandrew

Re: Painting with difficult paints
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2008, 04:01:13 PM »
Red over black is going to take you a long time, no matter how you do it. Best I can think of is to do a layer of Mechrite Red first.

Hoe onmachtig klinkt het schriel `te wapen',
Waar de levenswil ten strijd mee noodt,
Naast der doodsklaroenen schrille stoot,
Die de grijsaards oproept met de knapen.

Offline Raven

« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2008, 07:12:00 PM »
Either use the suggested foundation paint, or go the following route: