News: No news is good news...

Login  |  Register

Author Topic: 500pts Genestealer Cult  (Read 4980 times)

Offline Stitch

• The Angel's Talon
500pts Genestealer Cult
« on: January 25, 2014, 06:48:09 PM »
A note on the first part of this post: Please note that it was written before I had decided on an actual army list for the force. I just didn't want to post it until I had something to show, and so far it represents my thoughts fairly accurately. Everything is subject to change without prior notice, though. :)

Forewarned is four-armed

I haven't properly played 40k since the 4th edition and can't even remember when I painted my last Dark Angel. But with a weekly 500 point 40k league just starting in the store, I couldn't resist starting a new project. Which is really amazingly stupid, since I'm an expert in starting projects and not finishing them... But as I said, I couldn't resist. And it's something I have been thinking about doing for over 15 years. I'm not kidding. I saw the picture of Adrian Wood's Genestealer Cult Chimera in the 1997 February (#206) issue of White Dwarf and I thought it was the coolest thing I had ever seen. I knew I would have to build a Cult force at some point in time. I didn't think it would take me this long to actually get to it, though...

So, here's my take on the Genestealer Cult force. It has already gone through several revisions in my head, and it will probably change a lot more before it's finished. (If I ever get it finished...) If you don't agree with something, I am always open to comments and suggestions. I know a lot of these ideas are not original. I was certainly not the only person to think "OMG, HYBRIDS!" when the Vampire Counts Crypt Ghouls were released. I have also looked closely at both Tim Huckleberry's Codex: Genestealer Cults from Citadel Journal #40 and the Fly Lords of Terra's Cult Codex, as well as the work of Ambiance 327 on the 40kOnline forums.