News: No news is good news...

Login  |  Register

Author Topic: Tyranid Revamp. Players of ALL armies please read  (Read 5159 times)

Offline Chuckles, The Space Marine Clown

• Can't Touch This; Captain; Swarmlord - Tyranid Sweatshop Operator; 40KO's Official WMD; "No American orphans, please"
  • Ancient
  • I kill, maim and torture because I care
Re: Tyranid Revamp. Players of ALL armies please read
« Reply #20 on: August 6, 2011, 01:26:30 PM »
I've been using Tyranids for coming on for 14 years now, and have been playing games with them since the new Codex was released, so it has now been considerably longer than a year that I have been playing them. In my considered opinion there are things about the Codex that are very poorly thought out. GW encourages players to come up with their own rules, and that is what I have done here. There is no reason why getting used to these rules would make me worse at playing Tyranids using the standard rule set, any more than getting used to playing Tyranids makes me worse when I play using my Chaos Space Marines.
The forum rules are fair and just. *twitch*

Offline Full Metal Geneticist

• Sir Quotesaplenty | No new bastardy suits.
  • Lazerous Penguin
  • Defender of the Text Wall
    • FMG's Angry Rantings
« Reply #21 on: August 6, 2011, 03:48:35 PM »
A year? Chuckles doesn't do years (he does do ears though...)

The idea is that Chuckles likes writing rules up for armies that are universally agreed to be weaksauce. Mainly because he has the misfortune of picking absolute lemons.

Point in case? He is a Chaos Marine, Tyranid and Dwarf player. All he needs is necrons to complete the legion of fail.

These are just underwhelming codices and army books. Nids especially came out of the box weak... His rules actually tend to be rather decent and well thought out bar the occasional "I didn't notice that" problem.