News: No news is good news...

Login  |  Register

Author Topic: Marines vs Orks (kans) - 1500pts  (Read 1480 times)

Offline Deathpepper

• Big Mek
  • If all else fails, roll more dice!
Marines vs Orks (kans) - 1500pts
« on: March 22, 2009, 09:49:15 AM »
So I decided to dust off my marines ("The Unbound") this week while my ork army nears completion.  They've been semi-unplayable as nearly all the tac squads had ccw/bp arms (traits) that no longer apply.  I started painting some Black Reach marines to form a new core to them.  So this is my first 5th ed game with marines.  Apologies for the unpainted units!  I played this game on saturday vs Jeff's Ork kan army.  You can read an earlier batrep game against him here.
The Original Unbound Painting Blog
Infamous Unbound Fluff

The Unbound vs Death Skull Orks - Dawn of War Annihilation

THE CHALLENGER:  Tusks.  Cheaper by the dozen!

Warboss - klaw, eavy armor, squig, cybork
leading 10 'Ard Boys - PK, BP, trukk
8 Nobs - 2xklaws, banner, painboy, BP, trukk
KFF Big Mek
leading Walking Shoota Boy Mob of 20 - PK, BP
Walking Slugga Boy Mob of 20 - PK, BP
Deff Dread - extra klaws
9 Kans - Big Shootas

THE DEFENDER:  Hammer Time!
Viktor the Merciless <Vulkan>
leading 6 Assault Terminators - 2xLC, 4xTH/LC
in LRC - MM
2 Dreadnoughts - 2xHF
Tac Squad - melta, ML, Fist, Razorback
Tac Squad - flamer, Plasma cannon, Fist, Rhino
2 Attack Bikes - 2xMM

We got another player (stewart) to set up terrain on a 4' by 4' board.  The other boards were in use for painting or dnd players, lol.  We decided that the crashed rhino piece was a wreck, and the stream was lava (both dangerous terrain).  We rolled annihilation and dawn of war.  I got first turn.

Deployment:
I deployed a rhino as far forward as possible, just behind the lava stream.  This forced jeff to deploy further back.  The rhino squad deployed in the tank-trap covered ruin.  Jeff deployed the dread, mek, and shoota boy mob in some woods near the board center.