News: No news is good news...

Login  |  Register

Author Topic: Age of Sigmar basic tactics? Help for complete newbies needed.  (Read 1989 times)

Offline Wyddr

• Author Eminence: Hereticus Liber Daemonica | Fio'shas Shi
  • Lazerous Penguin
    • My blog about SF/F stuff
  • Armies: Daemons, Imperial Fists, Tau, Ksons, Vostroyans
So, I've been thinking more and more and more about getting into AoS, and I've finally committed to doing it (once my Deathwatch army is squared away). But here's the thing: I've read the rules and seen the warscrolls, and read all of Killersquid's batreps (and thanks, by the way), but I still have no clear idea how the game works and what kind of army I should look into building.

So, what are the basic tactics involved? What formations of units are good or useful? How important is shooting or magic or combat compared to the other phases? I gather objective claiming is key, but what constitutes a good objective claimer?

If somebody who knows what they're doing can give me some advice, that would be most appreciated.

Offline Lord of Winter and War

• The Cause of Diabetes -Captain- Necrontyr Immortal - KoN Veteran - Master of All Diplomacy | Wi-Fi Nomad |
  • Ancient
  • Armies: Harlequins, Spiderfang, Bonereapers, Space Wolves
Re: Age of Sigmar basic tactics? Help for complete newbies needed.
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2018, 04:46:41 PM »
This is sort of a broad subject, but I've been jumping into AoS pretty hard after my 40k Hiatus (went to a two day event a couple weeks ago, and have two tournaments coming up in the next two months), so I'll try and answer these questions the best I can.

So, what are the basic tactics involved?

So, I'm going to compare to 40k, as the games have a lot of similarity, and everyone here knows the innerworkings of 40k. Also, I tend to think on a more 'competitive' instead of narrative mindset, as if you're playing narrative, nothing I say matters anyway.