News: No news is good news...

Login  |  Register

Author Topic: 1000pt. plan  (Read 339 times)

Offline TheForceIncarnate

1000pt. plan
« on: September 14, 2007, 07:18:55 AM »
First let me say I'm very new to 40k and wargaming. I've been playing guard for the last couple of months with literally no success, utilising an immobile gunline strategy. I was getting torn apart by everyone, especially my mates tau. It was fairly disenchanting considering he's been playing for an even shorter time than me. So yesterday I finally won my first game, after experimenting with proxied sentinels and a basilisk.

Here is my new, more mobile 1000pt. list I intend to build and field. Critique welcome :) but be gentle.

Doctrines:
Deepstrike
Veterans
Iron Discipline
Close Order Drill

HQ: (181)

HQ Command        71pts.               
-JO
-Vet w/ CS
-Iron Discipline
-Missile Launcher

Anti-tank Squad   110pts.
-3 Lascannons

Troops: (447)

Platoon I

Platoon HQ        60pts.
-JO
-Iron Discipline
-Autocannon

Squad I             70pts.
-Heavy Bolter

Squad II            70pts.
-Heavy Bolter

-Squad III          70pts.
-Heavy Bolter

Armoured Fist     92pts.
-Autocannon
-Plasma Rifle
-Veteran Sgt.
-Bolt Pistol

Chimera              85pts.
-Multilaser
-HM Heavy Bolter

Elites: (165)

Veteran Squad I   100pts.
-7 Veterans
-1 Veteran Sgt.
-3 Plasma Rifle
-Bolter

Veteran Squad II  65pts.
-4 Veterans
-1 Veteran Sgt.
-2 Meltaguns

Heavy Support: (125)

Basilisk          125pts.
-Indirect Fire

Fast Attack: (80)

Sentinel          40pts.
-Heavy Flamer

Sentinel          40pts.
-Heavy Flamer

Total:            998pts.

The battle plan is to have the platoon, HQs and Basilisk (out of LOS) forming a fire base while the rest of the army strikes out towards the enemy.

The armoured fist will advance, trying to stay out of LOS of heavy weapons, and attempt to flank the enemy. I claimed victory last night using two heavy flamer sentinels and an armoured fist to flank in a 500pt. game).