News: No news is good news...

Login  |  Register

Author Topic: How should I kit out my Sternguard Veterans?  (Read 4122 times)

Offline JDizzle

• Why should I fear the Daemon?
How should I kit out my Sternguard Veterans?
« on: November 23, 2011, 06:10:21 PM »
I've never used the Sternguard vets before, so I was wondering how big people run the squads, and what exactly they upgrade the squad with. This unit would be in a rhino with a fast paced assault army (2x assault marine squads, Furioso, Death Company)
I am the hammer. I am the sword in His hands. I am the point of His spear. I am the gauntlet about His fist. I am His hammer just as he is my armor. I am His sword just as He is my shield. I am His spear just as He is my faith. I am His servant just as He guides me. I am rage incarnate. I am purity ever-flowing. I am his justice and judgement. I am His iron will. I am the light in the shadows. I am the guardian who leads thee. I am the bane of his enemies, woes of the treacherous. I AM THE END.

Offline Ludo

• Why, you ask. Why not?
  • Armies: Marines, Flesh Tearers, Dark Eldar, Guard, Tau
Re: How should I kit out my Sternguard Veterans?
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2011, 06:15:40 PM »
I'm not very familiar with the BA Codex but with the C:SM the best way to kit them is with a mix of combi weapons depending on their purpose and a power fist on your SGT.  My preference is 4x combi meltas. Another good tactic is combi meltas and combi flamers coming in from a drop pod.  You combat squad them, have them pop a transport and then flame the insides.
Smurf Hero Extrodinaire

Offline maturin

• A Yank in a strange land...
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2011, 07:52:27 PM »
Sternguard have so many options that they can fill whatever role you think your army list is lacking.  Not enough melta?  Take combi-meltas.  Need AP2?  Combi-plasmas fit the bill.  Some long range support?  2x lascannons coming right up!  Anti-horde?  Heavy flamers on the way!