News: No news is good news...

Login  |  Register

Author Topic: Almost full "Drop Pod" Necron List  (Read 1729 times)

Offline BritishBill

• I *LOVE* 40k Online!
Almost full "Drop Pod" Necron List
« on: January 23, 2013, 12:57:38 AM »
I have been playing Necrons for many years now and have really enjoyed the New Codex and appreciate it even more with version 6 of the rules coming out.

I have an idea for a Reserve Necron List that I am thinking will perform well, I am afraid I am missing something so I thought I would seek feedback.

List is :

Overlord with Sempiternal Weave and Res Orb.

Royal Court with 5 Crypteks having 4 as Harbingers of destruction and 1 as a Harbinger of Despair with a Veil of Darkness

Destroyer Lord with Sempiternal Weave

3 Squads of Deathmarks  (6,7,7)

4 Squads of Immortals  (7,7,7,8) varied between Gauss and Teslar

3 Night Scythes

2 Doom Scythes

To start I would have only the overlord attached to the royal court and the Destroyer Lord start on the board, and they are probably doing their best to survive. But given the ability of the overlord and crypteks to reanimate, I don't see me getting wiped off of the board in the first one or two turns.

On my turn 2, I am going to bringing in my reserves and should be able to place them to give me the best matches. I kind of overlooked Deathmarks when I first read the codex, but having three squads of them looks amazingly good. I had to reread the rules several times to confirm that all three squads received the boost to both shooting and close combat against all three marked targets. Amazing. I also think with 5 fliers I am probably going to dominate the skies and the weapon on the Doom Scythe is perfect for taking out any super tough targets on the ground (as is my Destroyer Lord).

So, I am now in the process of acquiring the Deathmarks and the Night Scythes, all the other models in the list I have. So does this list work well with the tactics described.