News: No news is good news...

Login  |  Register

Author Topic: Grey Knight Allies--Are they worth it, what are their uses?  (Read 967 times)

Offline The Swiss Army

So yeah, the title about says it all.
I've been considering adding some Grey Knights to my 1850 and 2000 point lists, mainly as a shooty assault unit.
Does anyone have any advice on how to use them, or if they're at all suitable to be in a list designed to take on any race? How well do they work as a shooty unit, or as an assault one? Is it worth it to deep strike them?
Sorry, but I have little experience with them. I saw their impressive stat line and list of abilities and wondered what they could be like. If anyone has any advice, I'd love to hear it. Thanks.

Offline [dixon]

• I pretend to be other users
  • BANNED
Re: Grey Knight Allies--Are they worth it, what are their uses?
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2007, 07:50:00 PM »
Well, really the only way to use Grey Knights is to Deep Strike them, that said, while Grey Knight Terminators are awesome in Assault, Codex Terminators are far more versatile, do to having one or two Assault Cannons to shoot on the turn they land.  I don't really rate regular Grey Knights, as for cheaper you can also simply Drop Pod a Tactical Squad, which will be both cheaper, and have the Drop Pod as 'cover' in the form of blocking LOS, and keeping them in one piece.
8-10 Grey Knights that Deep Strike onto the field are going to be a huge target for anything that can kill Marines, and as they are even more expensive, that's more points handing to the opponent for something that dies just the same as a Marine.
I pretended to be other members, and finally got BANNED

Offline Lazarus15

• Fantasy>5th Ed.
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2007, 11:21:33 AM »